Is Hummus Gluten Free? Plus A Recipe To Make Your Own Delicious Hummus!

Last Updated on May 25, 2024

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is hummus gluten free? When it comes to food and drink products, gluten can work its way into just about anything.

Whether it’s a main ingredient, or as an additive or flavoring – unwanted gluten can be very frustrating. Hummus is, without a doubt, one of my favorite dips, and there is a huge selection of hummus flavors available. But is hummus gluten free? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Hummus?

Hummus is a dip made from chickpeas (otherwise known as garbanzo beans), garlic and tahini. It’s blended into a smooth spread that can be used for a variety of reasons in cooking; such as dipping, snacking and cooking.

Hummus comes in a variety of flavors including:

  • classic hummus
  • caramelized onion hummus
  • Greek inspired hummus
  • jalapeno hummus
  • everything seasoned hummus
  • lemon hummus
  • spicy hummus
  • roasted red pepper hummus
  • spinach and artichoke hummus
  • roasted garlic hummus
  • roasted pine nut hummus
  • olive tapenade hummus
Hummus Gluten Free

Hummus Ingredients

You may be curious as to the ingredients in hummus. Classic hummus contains the following ingredients:

  • cooked chickpeas
  • water
  • tahini (ground sesame)
  • oil
  • garlic
  • salt

Click Here to Get Info About:

Hummus Is Nutritious

It’s also worth mentioning that hummus is incredibly nutritious. As the beans are full of protein and fiber and unsaturated fats, they’re great with aiding in things with weight management and energy; as well as blood glucose levels.

How To Eat Hummus

If you’re looking for more inventive ways to eat hummus, then we’re here to help. The most common way to enjoy hummus is in foods like pita bread and chips. However, the opportunities are endless when it comes to hummus. Why not try one of these with hummus?

  • carrot sticks
  • celery sticks
  • cucumber slices
  • bell pepper
  • radishes
  • broccoli
  • pita chips
  • pretzels
  • bagel chips
  • crackers

Is All Hummus Gluten Free?

Typically, hummus is gluten free. As the main ingredients of hummus are chickpeas, tahini, and water, there should be no reason for hummus to ever contain gluten. However, that is not always the case. Gluten may be found in hummus for a number of reasons, which is why it’s always important to check the ingredients.

Gluten can be found in hummus because of ingredients such as additives or flavorings. It can also be at risk of gluten when being prepared on shared equipment. While the listed ingredients may not contain gluten, it may contain traces of gluten due to how it’s been made. If this is the case, it should be clearly displayed on the packaging. And finally, it may not be gluten free if it’s paired with non-gluten free crackers of some kind, for example.

Gluten Free Hummus Recipe

If you’re looking to make your own gluten free hummus, then look no further. This recipe is inspired by one from Daily Dish, and it’s ready in no time at all! Let’s take a closer look.


  • 14oz can of chickpeas
  • 3 crushed garlic cloves
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda
  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1/3 cup of tahini
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 tablespoons of oil


Step 1: Drain And Peel

Before you make the hummus, you’ll need to drain the chickpeas. Once drained, add them to a bowl, along with the baking soda. Mix well and place into the microwave for around 30 seconds. Rinse them until water several times and then remove the skins from the chickpeas.

Step 2: Blend Ingredients

Place the crushed garlic and peeled chickpeas into a blender or food processor and pulse. Keep pulsing until you have a paste. At this point, add the salt, juice, tahini, and ice cubes. Blitz for a further few minutes, until smooth and creamy. Add a small amount of hot water, if needed.

Step 3: Finish

Add olive oil to your hummus and serve with a dish of your choice. Enjoy!

Conclusion – Is Hummus Gluten Free?

I hope this post has helped to answer the question: is hummus gluten free? Hummus is one of the easier foods to find gluten free, and is easily accessible in most grocery stores, so you can enjoy following a gluten free lifestyle.