Last Updated on September 22, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does Pizza Hut have gluten free crust available? And taking a look at which gluten free options Pizza Hut have on their menu, if any. Pizza is one of the most popular takeout options, but pizza is also one of the most common foods that contains gluten. However, nowadays, it’s relatively easy to find gluten free pizza. But does Pizza Hut have gluten free crust? Let’s take a closer look.
It’s worth mentioning that this post will be focusing on Pizza Hut in the US. As Pizza Hut is popular across the globe, it’s always best to check the ingredients and allergens in your local stores for the most up to date information.
What Is Pizza Hut?
Wherever you’re from in the world, you’ll likely have heard of Pizza Hut. It’s one of the biggest franchises, and has been around for over 60 years. Would you believe that Pizza Hut has over 18,000 locations globally?! Some pizza huts are takeout only, but others have dine-in options. They’re most famous for their pizzas, however they also serve foods such as pasta, chicken wings, breadsticks and salad.
Does Pizza Hut Have Gluten-Free Crust?
If you enjoy Pizza Hut, I have some good news! Pizza Hut does currently offer gluten-free crust as an option. It’s only available in one size at the moment (which is a 10″ base), but it’s certified gluten-free, which means it’s as safe as can possibly be.
In fact, in the US, they have two pizzas which already come prepared so there’s almost no chance of cross contact in the kitchen. There’s a ready made gluten free cheese pizza and a ready made gluten free pepperoni pizza – both of which are certified gluten free, and certified by the Gluten Intolerance Group.
The gluten free crust they use at Pizza Hut is a popular brand that you may already be familiar with. The brand is called Udi’s and has quite a large selection of gluten free products that you can find available in most grocery stores in the US.
Ingredients In Pizza Hut Gluten Free Crust
You may be wondering what the gluten free crust from Pizza Hut is made from. Let’s take a look. The ingredients in the crust are:
- tapioca starch
- brown rice flour
- canola oil
- egg whites
- cane syrup
- tapioca syrup
- tapioca maltodextrin
- xanthan gum
- cultured corn syrup solids
- corn syrup solids
- citric acid enzymes
The only allergen listed for this crust is egg, meaning it’s suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.
Nutritional Information Of Pizza Hut Gluten Free Crust
You may be wondering how the nutritional information of a gluten free pizza compares to one that does contain gluten. Each half a gluten free pizza crust from Pizza Hut contains the following:
- Calories: 200
- Fat: 5g
- Sodium: 350mg
- Carbs: 34g
- Dietary Fiber: 1g
- Sugars: 5g
- Protein: 4g
You can find out more information about the nutrition and ingredients of the crust here.
Gluten Free Menu at Pizza Hut
Unfortunately, it’s common for Pizza Hut stores to not have gluten free pizza crusts in stock. For this reason, it may be best to call your local branch before arriving to check they have them readily available.
- Cheese – Udi’s Gluten-Free Pizza*
- Pepperoni – Udi’s Gluten-Free Pizza*
- Create Your Own Udi’s Gluten-Free Pizza* **
*this pizza only comes in one size, which is a 10″ crust.
**there is a higher chance of cross contact with this pizza as it is garnished with toppings on site and will be around high volumes of gluten – we would not recommend this option if you are particularly sensitive to gluten, or have celiac disease.
- Classic Marinara (while other options are available, this is the only sauce that is stored separately from gluten containing products)
- Grilled Chicken
- Hardwood Smoked Bacon
- Italian Sausage
- Premium Salami
- Seasoned Pork
- Slow-Roasted Ham
- Diced Roma Tomatoes
- Fresh Mushrooms
- Fresh Red Onions
- Fresh Spinach
- Sweet Pineapple
- Mediterranean Black Olives
- Peruvian Cherry Peppers
- Sliced Banana Peppers
- Sliced Jalapeno Peppers
- Fresh Green Bell Peppers
- Green Chile Peppers
*these toppings may only be available at some stores:
- BBQ Beef
- Bean Pizza Sauce
- Cheddar Cheese
- Parmesan Oregano Seasoning
- Crushed Red Pepper Packet
- Grated Cheese Packet
- All soft drinks available at Pizza Hut should be gluten free
I hope this post has helped to answer the question: does Pizza Hut have gluten free crust? And given you an idea of which pizzas you can enjoy when ordering from Pizza Hut. It’s relatively easy to enjoy pizza takeout, and Pizza Hut is definitely my favorite pizza chain!
What’s your go-to order from Pizza Hut? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Is Pizza Hut Gluten-Free Crust Good?
To me, Pizza Hut gluten free crust is the best tasting pizza available from a fast food chain. I've tried Domino's and Papa Johns in comparison - and nothing is better than Pizza Hut! I've also never had a reaction from pizza at Pizza Hut, which helps to put my mind at ease.
Why Has Pizza Hut Stopped Doing Gluten-Free?
Pizza Hut hasn't stopped doing gluten free, they seem to just be having stock issues worldwide at the moment. My local store didn't have stock for a few months, but it seems to have returned to normal service now.
Is Pizza Hut Safe For Celiacs?
If you have celiac disease, I would always make your server aware so they can make the necessary precautions when preparing your order. And try to stick to one of their premade pizzas such as the pepperoni or cheese; this way there's very little risk of cross contact.
Is Pizza Hut Marinara Gluten-Free?
Yes! The classic marinara sauce at Pizza Hut is completely gluten free, and is even stored separately from other sauces to ensure it remains completely free of any potential traces of gluten.