Do Oreos Have Gluten? (& Top GF Alternatives)

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: do Oreos have gluten? And taking a look at gluten-free alternatives to Oreos that you may like to try. They’re the nation’s favorite cookie and it’s not hard to see why. Wherever you’re from in the world, it’s highly likely you’ll be familiar with these circular treats. They’re creamy, crunchy, and most importantly, chocolatey. But are they gluten-free? What are the ingredients in this much-loved favorite? Let’s take a look at whether you can enjoy Oreos when you next pour yourself a glass of milk.

Ingredients In Oreos

Let’s take a look at the ingredients you’ll find when purchasing the Original Oreo Chocolate Sandwich Cookie (which is, of course, the most popular flavor. The ingredients are:

  • Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Vitamin B1, Vitamin B2, Folic Acid)
  • Sugar
  • Palm Oil
  • Canola Oil
  • Cocoa
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Leavening (Baking Soda and/or Calcium Phosphate)
  • Salt
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Chocolate
  • Artificial Flavor

Are Oreos Gluten-Free?

After taking a look at the ingredients, you’ll likely already be able to determine the gluten-free status of Oreos. Unfortunately, traditional Oreos are not gluten-free. Nor are any of the other flavors of Oreos you may stumble across. The main ingredient in Oreos is wheat flour. This means that they are not safe for gluten-free consumption.

Wheat is a cereal grain that contains gluten (alongside other cereal grains such as rye, barley, and oats). Therefore, when following a gluten-free diet, you should avoid cereal grains at all times. But if you’re a fan of Oreos – never fear! This year changed everything…

Gluten-Free Oreos

In January 2021, Oreo finally introduced Gluten-Free Oreos to their ever-expanding cookie range! They even have two varieties – regular and Double Stuf versions! This was like music to my ears when I saw I could finally enjoy gluten-free Oreos! However, if like me, you have a separate oat allergy (which is very common among gluten-intolerant individuals), you may have to wait a little longer.

The ingredients in gluten-free Oreos are:

  • Sugar
  • White Rice Flour
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Palm Oil
  • Canola Oil
  • Whole Oat Flour (GF)
  • Cornstarch
  • Cocoa
  • Invert Sugar
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Baking Soda
  • Salt
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Chocolate
  • Artificial Flavor

It’s important to note that the oats used for the gluten-free Oreos are 100% gluten-free and safe to eat unless you have a separate oat allergy/intolerance.

They carry a striking white packaging, with a clear gluten-free label – so you don’t need to worry about purchasing the wrong Oreos! You can find out more information on these delicious favorites here. They’re readily available in most grocery stores and definitely worth looking out for to satisfy your Oreo craving.

Other Gluten-Free Alternatives

You may be looking for more alternatives and there’s actually a surprising amount! Whether you’re looking for the traditional Oreo or flavors that are a little different, we’ve got you covered. Let’s take a look at some of our favorites.

Gato Cookies and Cream

Gato is a gluten-free and plant-based brand. They have a wide selection of tasty snacks, but some of their most popular products are their Gato Creams. There are even several different flavors to choose from. The flavors available are:

How delicious do they sound?! Again, if you have a separate intolerance to oats – you’ll need to avoid this one. The ingredients in these gluten-free Oreo alternatives are:

  • Gluten-Free Oats
  • Sugar
  • Organic Palm Fat
  • Fiber (citrus, chicory)
  • Potato Starch
  • Cacao
  • Natural Flavor
  • Baking Soda
  • Salt
  • Sunflower Lecithin

They also contain less sugar and are vegan, which means they’re suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles. If you’d like to try these, they offer a tasting bundle for just £6.99, which you can find here.

https://gatoandco.com/products/choc-vanilla-cookies-n-cream

Great Value Gluten-Free Sandwich Cookies

If you’re looking for a cheaper alternative, which does not contain oats – look no further! Walmart’s own brand makes its very own gluten-free version of Oreos. And the best part is they’re just under $3 a pack (which is far less expensive than Oreos themselves). They do only offer one flavor, but they come highly recommended in the gluten-free community.

The ingredients you’ll find in Great Value Sandwich Cookies are:

  • Sugar
  • Rice Flour
  • Vegetable Shortening
  • Cornstarch
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Cocoa
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Potato Starch
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Molasses
  • Sodium Bicarbonate
  • Salt
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Ammonium Bicarbonate
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Natural Flavors

What’s great about this product is that it’s certified gluten-free. This means that each product goes through vigorous testing and has to meet strict guidelines set by the FDA to confirm the gluten-free status of the product. This means that this product is as safe as possible for us!

Schar Chocolate O’s

One of my go-to brands since my diagnosis is Schar. And of course, they have their very own gluten-free Oreos. Their Chocolate O’s are gluten-free, wheat-free, and vegetarian-friendly. And no oats! They even taste just like Oreos – I eat these ones regularly myself.

The ingredients you’ll find in Chocolate O’s are:

  • Milk Cream
  • Whole Milk Powder
  • Dextrose
  • Sugar
  • Lactose
  • Soya Lecithin
  • Natural Flavoring
  • Maize Starch
  • Sugar
  • Palm Fat
  • Maize Flour
  • Skimmed Cocoa Powder
  • Soya flour
  • Potato Starch
  • Whole Milk Powder
  • Salt
  • Raising Agents

It’s worth mentioning that Chocolate O’s only seem to be available in Europe at the moment, but there’s plenty of places that will ship them over if you want to try them!

https://www.schaer.com/es-mx/productos/chocolate-os

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: do Oreos have gluten? And opened your eyes to the wonderful Oreo alternatives we have on offer. Just be sure to check the packaging before you make any purchases.

Do you have a favorite that you think is worthy of the list? Or maybe you have your own recipe? Please feel free to leave any answers in the comments below.

Read more about: Are Nestle Chocolate Chips Gluten-Free? GF Chocolate Chip Brands