Last Updated on November 29, 2021
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are canned black beans gluten-free? And looking out for the warning signs and ingredients to avoid when purchasing beans. Beans are one of the most natural foods you can eat – so surely they’re gluten-free? Naturally, yes. But we need to look deeper…as the end product is often not free from gluten! Let’s take a closer look.
What Are Black Beans?
Black beans are part of the legumes family. You may also know them as turtle beans. This is because they have a hard exterior and an almost shell-like appearance. Like other legumes, black beans are extremely good for you. They are high in protein and fiber and are great when working towards a balanced diet. You can buy them in a bag dry, or more commonly, in a can.
Are Black Beans Gluten-Free?
If you buy black beans dry and in their purest form, they should be gluten-free. They will have no additives and will be as natural as they come. In fact, those on a gluten-free diet are encouraged to fill their diet with legumes such as black beans to replace what has been lost from gluten.
However, even with dry black beans, there is a chance of cross-contact. This means that although there are no gluten-containing ingredients in the beans, due to growing and packaging methods – the end product may contain traces of gluten. Therefore, when buying dry black beans, we encourage you to wash them before cooking and eating them.
To put it simply, more often than not, black beans are gluten-free.
Are Beans Gluten-Free?
Yes. Whether it’s black beans, pinto beans, garbanzo beans – naturally, they are all gluten-free. And all work well in a gluten-free diet. However, much like the black beans, there’s a chance of cross-contact, so always be sure to read any ingredients labels carefully and avoid buying beans from bulk bins. These types of beans have a far higher risk of cross-contact with gluten-containing grains.
Are Canned Black Beans Gluten-Free?
The answer to this question is a little more vague. This is because canned black beans (and any canned beans) are at a far higher risk of containing gluten than if you purchase them to try. Canned beans often come with additives, so you must be careful when purchasing them. Wheat starch and wheat flour are the most common additives you’ll find, but check the ingredients for any other gluten grains – even if it’s a brand you’re familiar with.
Gluten-Free Bean Brands
Even though beans are naturally gluten-free, there are quite a few brands that come recommended within the gluten-free community. These are brands that take cross contact very seriously and you’re not likely to have any problems with these stores. Let’s take a look at some of our favorites.
Edison Grainery is a great place to buy your beans from. This is because this brand takes pride in being free from the top 8 allergens, including gluten. In fact, their black beans are not only organic – but verified gluten-free as well. This means that each product goes through rigorous testing to ensure its gluten-free status and must meet strict guidelines set by the FDA. It’s around $5 for a 500g bag.
Nuts.Com is the perfect place to buy any legumes you may need. They have a whole host of options – including organic and not. They have hundreds of gluten-free products to choose from, so you definitely will not be disappointed.
The company even has a statement which says, “uncertified gluten-free products are also handled on a dedicated gluten-free production line in a separate area of our warehouse”. So there’s absolutely no need to worry when eating any of Nuts.com products.
It’s important to note that not all Omena Organic products are certified gluten-free. However, the area where they can the beans is not used for gluten-containing products, so there is very little chance of cross-contact. If your sensitivity is on the milder side, this may be a good option for you. They have a huge range of organic (and gluten-free) products on their website.
A brand that you’ll often see in grocery stores is La Preferida. And it’s one of the most commonly recommended canned black beans among the gluten-free community. It’s not certified gluten-free or labeled gluten-free, so that’s important to bear in mind. But if you’re looking for a canned bean that’s more reasonably priced and more accessible, their black beans may be the one for you.
Of course, ingredients are subject to change at any time – even on products that you’re familiar with. So be sure to check any ingredients labels before purchasing.
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are canned black beans gluten-free? And give you some ideas on where to shop for your beans. It’s important not to come away from this article feeling fearful of legumes. For nutritional value, legumes are one of the best foods you can eat when following a gluten-free diet! As long as you’re mindful of any purchases you make, and opt for products with a gluten-free label when you can – it’s easy to enjoy beans!
The warning signs and ingredients to look out for are:
- Cross Contact (may carry a “may contain” label)
- Gluten-containing additives
- Gluten-containing flavoring
- Any other signs of gluten (wheat, rye, barley, etc.)
As long as you’re looking out for those, you’ll be just fine. Do you have a favorite gluten-free black bean brand? Or a store that you always shop at for your legumes? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. You may be helping out fellow gluten-free community members.
Read more about: Gluten Free Enchilada Sauce Brands
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.