Are Mochi Gluten Free? & Our Top Picks

Last Updated on August 16, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are mochi gluten free? And taking a look at the top brands when it comes to gluten free mochi. Mochi have always been popular in Japanese culture, but in more recent years, they’ve become increasingly popular in the UK and US. If you’ve not heard of mochi, you’re missing out! They’re circular, sweet and absolutely delicious. But are they gluten free? Let’s take a closer look.

What Are Mochi?

Mochi is a type of rice cake that originated in Japan. It’s a sweet rice cake that’s made from rice called mochigome (that’s where the name mochi comes from). It’s a glutinous rice that’s then mixed with ingredients such as sugar and cornstarch. It’s then made into it’s infamous circular shape. Mochi is often mistaken for ice cream, due to it’s appearance – but it’s most definitely a sweet rice cake!

Click Here to Get Info About:

Ingredients In Mochi

Ingredients in mochi can vary depending on which recipe you’re using. However, the typical ingredients in mochi include:

  • sweetened red bean paste
  • glutinous rice flour
  • matcha (green tea powder)
  • water
  • white sugar
  • cornstarch

Nutritional Information Of Mochi – Are Mochi Gluten Free

You may be curious as the nutritional information of mochi. Each serving of mochi contains the following:

  • Calories: 126
  • Fat: 2.6g
  • Cholesterol: 2mg
  • Sodium: 9.2mg
  • Carbs: 25g
  • Sugar: 17g
  • Potassium: 50mg

Are Mochi Gluten Free?

Let’s be honest, there aren’t many desserts that are typically gluten free besides plain ice cream and fruit salad – and don’t we know it when we visit restaurants! However, we have some good news if you’re a fan of mochi. Mochi is typically always gluten free. This is because it’s made using rice flour, instead of wheat flour. And rice is not a gluten containing grain.

However, with most products, there’s always a chance of cross contact from gluten, or gluten working it’s way in for flavoring or as a preservative. For that reason, it’s always best to check the labels before purchasing any mochi.

Gluten Free Mochi Brands

There are plenty of gluten free mochi brands out there, as mochi is naturally gluten free. However, there is one brand I want to discuss as it’s by far my favorite, and is the perfect blend between mochi and ice cream.

Japanese Sakura Mochi Candies -Cherry blossom Rice Cakes

Are Mochi Gluten Free

Little Moons

You may have already heard of Little Moons, as they’re becoming increasingly popular. Soft mochi dough, with ice cream in the center. What more could you ask for? Not only that, but they have a huge selection of flavors, including:

  • Vegan Passionfruit and Mango
  • Creamy Coconut
  • Honey Roasted Pistachio
  • Vegan Belgian Chocolate
  • Belgian Chocolate and Hazelnut
  • Alphonso Mango
  • Uji Matcha Green Tea
  • Himalayan Salted Caramel
  • Madagascan Vanilla
  • Summer Raspberry
  • Italian Roasted Hazelnut
  • Strawberries and Cream
  • Yuzu Lemon
  • Iced Latte Coffee

It’s worth mentioning that their cheesecakes do contain gluten, so be sure to avoid those if you’re following a gluten free diet. However, all of their mochi are certified gluten free, and as safe as can possibly be.

Gluten Free Mochi Recipe

One of the safest ways to enjoy mochi is to make your own. As it’s a naturally gluten free dessert, it’s simple to keep gluten free, and doesn’t require too many ingredients. In fact, most of which you’ll already have in your pantry.

Ingredients – Are Mochi Gluten Free

The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • 1 cup of sweetened red bean paste
  • 1 cup of glutinous rice flour
  • 1 teaspoon of matcha (green tea powder)
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/4 cup of white sugar
  • 1/2 cup of cornstarch

Step By Step

Step 1: Prepare The Bean Paste

Grab some foil and wrap your red bean paste in it. Leave in the freezer for at least one hour before doing anything else. The bean paste should be solid when you take it out.

Step 2: Prepare The Mixture

Grab a bowl and add your rice flour and matcha. Mix well and then add your water. Mix again and then add your sugar. Stir until the mixture becomes smooth. Cover with plastic wrap and place into the microwave for 3 mins 30 seconds (be sure you’re using a microwavable bowl). In the meantime, remove the paste from the freezer and divide it into 8 even balls. Stir your rice flour and place it back into the microwave for a further 20 seconds.

Gluten Free Mochi Recipe

Sprinkle some cornstarch onto a surface and use around two tablespoons of your warm flour mixture to make a ball. With your hand, flatten it and add one ball of the red paste into the middle. Press the dough around the paste until the paste is out of sight. Add some extra cornstarch to prevent sticking and place on a prepared baking sheet. Repeat until all your dough and bean paste has been used. Serve and enjoy!

Conclusion – Are Mochi Gluten Free?

I hope this post has helped to answer the question: are mochi gluten free? And also given you an idea of how to make your own homemade mochi, as well as our top gluten free brand! Mochi are simple to make and so very delicious.

Do you have any tips or tricks when it comes to making mochi? What’s your go-to flavor? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!


Does Mochi Have Dairy or Gluten?

No, it is unusual for mochi to have gluten or dairy in. This is why it makes such a great dessert for those with additional dietary requirements. 

Is Red Bean Mochi Gluten-Free?

Yes. Most mochi is made using red bean paste, and red bean paste is a naturally gluten free food product.

Do Mochi Waffles Have Gluten?

Mochi waffles are made using the same glutinous rice flour and do not usually contain gluten. However, it's always best to check.

Is Little Moons Mochi Gluten-Free?

Yes! Little Moons are one of the most popular brands of mochi available, and almost all of their products are completely gluten free.