Are Cannolis Gluten Free? (& GF Recipe)

Last Updated on April 27, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are cannolis gluten free? And taking a look at how to make your own gluten-free cannolis at home. Cannoli are absolutely delicious and an extremely popular Italian dessert – but are they naturally gluten-free? Can you purchase them gluten-free anywhere? Let’s take a closer look.

What Are Cannolis?

Cannoli are an Italian sweet treat. They come in shells of pastry that have been fried and then filled with a sweet and creamy center. They range in size, anywhere from ten to twenty centimeters. It’s very rich and has a slightly cheesy taste, which it gets from its filling – which usually contains ricotta cheese

What Are Cannolis

Learn more about: Is Creme Brulee Gluten-Free? (& GF Recipe)

Ingredients In Cannoli

The main two elements in cannoli are ricotta filling and the pastry shell itself. So the most common ingredients you can expect to find within those two elements are:

  • ricotta
  • chocolate
  • egg
  • plain flour
  • marsala wine
  • icing sugar
  • ground cinnamon
  • leavening

It’s important to note that these are just generic ingredients, and ingredients will vary depending on where you buy the cannoli from.

Nutritional Information Of Cannoli

You may be wondering what the nutritional value of cannoli is. A single cannoli contains the following:

  • Calories: 233
  • Fat: 15g
  • Saturated Fat: 4.7g
  • Cholesterol: 32mg
  • Sodium: 37mg
  • Carbs: 18g
  • Dietary Fiber: 0.7g

Are Cannoli Gluten Free?

You’ve probably already guessed from the list of ingredients, but cannoli are not typically gluten-free. While the filling is usually gluten-free, the pastry itself is not. The pastry is made using wheat flour, which is a gluten-containing grain and should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.

While traditional cannoli are not gluten-free, you can find gluten-free cannoli ready-made – it’s just much trickier to find! We’ll be having a round-up of our top picks in this post.

Gluten Free Cannoli Shells


Diforti is not an exclusively gluten-free brand, but they do have a huge selection and flavors of gluten-free cannoli. Their flavors include:

  • chocolate gluten-free cannoli
  • hazelnut gluten-free cannoli
  • salted caramel gluten-free cannoli
  • pistachio gluten free cannoli
  • white chocolate gluten-free cannoli
  • ricotta gluten free cannoli

You can find their full range of products here.

The Little Deli Online

The Little Deli Online has three flavors of gluten-free cannoli, including salted caramel, hazelnut, and pistachio – and they’re currently on sale! These crispy treats are filled with cream and then dipped in either nuts or caramel; yummy. You can find their full range here.

Gluten Free Cannoli Recipe

Making your own gluten-free cannoli is the best option, in my opinion. Especially as you can flavor them as you wish – and make them any size you wish! Today’s recipe is inspired by a recipe by Let Them Eat Gluten Free Cake. Let’s take a look at how to make this tasty treat!


The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:


  • cannoli tubes (incredibly important to get the shape right)

for the shells:

  • 4 cups of all-purpose gluten-free flour
  • 2 tablespoons of brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 3 tablespoons of butter (softened)
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 cups of Marsala wine
  • canola or vegetable oil (to fry)

for the filling:

  • 3 cups of ricotta cheese (drained)
  • 1 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • chocolate chips and chopped cherries

for decoration:

  • powdered sugar (to dust)
  • cherries and chocolate chips


Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Prepare the Dough

Grab a bowl and add flour, cinnamon, salt, sugar, and nutmeg. Mix well, preferably using a stand mixer. Once mixed, add the butter and yolks until you have a crumbly mix. Now add the Marsala wine, slowly. Once you’ve added the wine, the dough should appear stiff. If this is not the case, you may need to add more wine. Roll into a ball and leave in plastic wrap for around thirty minutes

Step 2: Shape the Dough

Split the dough into two and work one half at a time. Roll out as thin as possible (paper-thin) and use a round cutter to cut out circles. Using your cannoli tubes, add one circle and seal with cooking spray. Keep adding circles and seal with egg whites with your finger. Repeat until you have used all of the dough

Step 3: Fry

Heat your oil to around 350F. Place the cannoli into the oil for around 2-4 minutes. They should be golden when ready. Drain on paper towels before consuming. The shells should now easily be removable from the cannoli tubes. Leave to cool.

Step 4: Add the Filling

Place your ricotta into a bowl and whisk until creamy. Slowly add the sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla – mixing well. You should have a thick frosting-type mixture. Place the mixture into a pastry bag and pipe it into your cooled shells. Add your desired decorations at either end of your cannoli and sprinkle with powdered sugar. Serve and enjoy!
Read more about: Are Ice Cream Sandwiches Gluten-Free? (& Where To Buy Them)


I hope this post has helped to answer the question: are cannolis gluten-free? And also gives you an idea of the best store-bought cannoli to buy, plus how to make your own at home! They are absolutely delicious and worth the time it takes to make them.

Do you have any tips or tricks when it comes to making gluten-free cannoli? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!


What Are Cannolis Made of?

Cannoli is made using pastry dough that has been fried. It's then left to cool, before being filled with a sweetened ricotta cheese type filling. 

Can You Get Gluten Free Pasta?

Of course! In fact, pasta is one of the easiest foods to find gluten free. Pasta is a staple in many people's lives, and it's easily accessible at most grocery stores.

Is Cannoli Cream Gluten Free?

Yes! The cream you'll find in cannoli is almost always gluten free. However, it's always best to check if you're unsure about the ingredients.