The garbanzo bean is from the legume family. While their name is garbanzo beans, you’ll likely know them better by their more common name – chickpeas. That’s right, chickpeas and garbanzo beans are one and the same.
Yes. Garbanzo beans are naturally gluten-free, and can safely be added to a gluten-free diet. The only time you may need to be careful is if there are any additives or flavorings within the product that may contain gluten.