Are Garbanzo Beans Gluten Free?

Last Updated on April 25, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are garbanzo beans gluten free? And taking a look at some of the health benefits of adding garbanzo beans to your diet. When you first receive your diagnosis, it can feel overwhelming and it’ll likely surprise you the amount of food and drink that contains gluten. But are garbanzo beans typically gluten-free? Let’s take a closer look.

What Are Garbanzo Beans?

The garbanzo bean is from the legume family. While their name is garbanzo beans, you’ll likely know them better by their more common name – chickpeas. That’s right, chickpeas and garbanzo beans are one and the same. They are light in color and have a smooth exterior. Garbanzo beans have a nutty flavor, which is quite mild.

What Are Garbanzo Beans

Learn more about: How To Make Chickpea Flour From Canned Chickpeas

Nutritional Information Of Garbanzo Beans

You may be wondering what the nutritional value is when it comes to garbanzo beans. Well, look no further! A cup of garbanzo beans contains the following nutritional value:

  • Calories: 729
  • Fat: 12g
  • Sat. Fat: 1.3g
  • Sodium: 48mg
  • Potassium: 1750mg
  • Carbs: 121g
  • Fiber: 35g
  • Sugar: 21g
  • Protein: 39g

Health Benefits Of Garbanzo Beans

When it comes to garbanzo beans, there’s a whole host of health benefits you may notice by adding them to your diet. Some of these benefits include:

  • Nutrients. Chickpeas are packed full of nutrients, vitamins, and minerals. From folate, to iron, to zinc, to potassium – chickpeas contain a huge percentage of your recommended daily intake, which is a great way to maintain a healthy, balanced diet
  • Fuller. As it’s full of fiber and protein, this is great for making you feel less hungry and keeping you fuller over a sustained period of time
  • Digestion. We know chickpeas are full of fiber. Fiber is good in helping with digestive issues and helping to maintain regular bowel movements – which is extremely helpful in those with gluten intolerance
  • Gluten-Free. The main benefit for us is that garbanzo beans are naturally gluten-free, and we don’t need to worry about adding them to our diet

What Are Garbanzo Beans Used For?

Garbanzo beans can be used in a variety of ways, but most often they’re used for:

  • hummus
  • soups
  • stews
  • casseroles
  • chilis

…you can even enjoy garbanzo beans as a healthy snack!

Are Garbanzo Beans Gluten Free?

Yes. Garbanzo beans are naturally gluten-free, and can safely be added to a gluten-free diet. The only time you may need to be careful is if there are any additives or flavorings within the product that may contain gluten.

Are Beans Gluten Free?

Yes. All beans are naturally gluten-free. Let’s take a look at some popular beans that are gluten-free:

  • garbanzo beans
  • cannellini beans
  • pinto beans
  • black beans
  • black-eyed peas
  • kidney beans
  • lima beans
  • fava beans
  • mung beans

There are hundreds of varieties of beans – all of which are gluten-free.

Garbanzo Beans Recipe

Love and Lemons have the most incredible chickpea salad, which is the perfect dish with the summer season fast approaching. Let’s take a look at this recipe.


The ingredients you need for this recipe are:

  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 3 minced garlic gloves
  • 1 tablespoon of lemon zest
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 3/4 tablespoons of salt
  • pinch of black pepper
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of cumin seeds
  • 2 cups of cooked chickpeas
  • 1 cup of cherry tomatoes
  • 3 cucumbers (sliced into crescent moons)
  • 1/3 cup of roasted red peppers
  • 1/4 cup of fine parsley
  • 3oz of goat’s cheese
  • 1/4 cup of fresh mint
  • 1/3 cup of roasted chickpeas


Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Prepare

Gather all the ingredients you need and grab a large bowl. Add the oil, lemon juice, zest, garlic, salt, and a pinch of pepper. Mix well.

Step 2: Cook

Now heat a pan over medium heat and toast the cumin. This usually takes around 30 seconds. Crush the seeds and add them to the bowl from step 1. Now add the chickpeas, cucumbers, red pepper, tomatoes, and parsley. Toss and ensure it’s mixed well. Sprinkle the roasted chickpeas over the top, as well as the mint and the goat’s cheese.

Step 3: Season

Season with salt and pepper, if desired. Your salad is now ready to serve!

Read more about: Is Hominy Gluten-Free?


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are garbanzo beans gluten-free? And also gives you an idea of ways to incorporate chickpeas into your diet as easily as possible. As long as you’re enjoying garbanzo beans as part of a healthy, balanced diet – they really are a great addition.

Do you have any favorite recipes using garbanzo beans? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring.


Can People With Celiac Eat Chickpeas?

Absolutely. In fact, your dietitian will likely suggest adding beans to your diet, and chickpeas are a great choice. All beans are naturally gluten free, including chickpeas. Whether you're gluten intolerant or live with celiac disease, chickpeas can safely be consumed without any concern.

Does Garbanzo Bean Flour Have Gluten?

Garbanzo bean flour is better known as gram flour, and gram flour is completely gluten free. However, it's worth noting that the flour may have been milled in the same place as gluten containing flour, so it's always best to opt for flour that carries a gluten free label. Flour is usually one of the higher risk foods when it comes to potential cross contact. Gram flour is a good substitute for wheat flour, and relatively easy to find.

What are the Side Effects of Chickpeas?

When eaten in moderation, there aren't any side effects to chickpeas. However, if you eat a lot, it can lead to issues such as gut issues (such as bloating, gas, diarrhea), it can aid in kidney stone formation and also, legumes are quite common to have an intolerance too; much like gluten.

Are Canned Garbanzo Beans Gluten Free?

Canned garbanzo beans are usually gluten free, but it's always best to check the ingredients of anything you're purchasing, as gluten can sneak it's way into almost anywhere. However, there really shouldn't be any other ingredient in canned chickpeas, other than the garbanzo beans themselves.