Is Apple Cider Vinegar Gluten Free?

Last Updated on April 20, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is apple cider vinegar gluten free? And taking a look at whether apple cider vinegar helps gluten intolerance. Vinegar is always a tricky minefield to navigate, with so many conflicting opinions. So let’s take a look at whether apple cider vinegar is gluten-free, and then we can move on to other varieties of vinegar.

What Is Apple Cider Vinegar?

Apple cider vinegar is simply made from crushed apples. Once the apples have been crushed, the juice is then squeezed out. It’s essentially fermented apple juice and works well on a range of products, including salad dressings, marinades, and chutneys.

Ingredients In Apple Cider Vinegar

While you may assume there would be additives or flavorings in apple cider vinegar, that is very rarely the case. The only ingredient in most apple cider vinegars is apple cider vinegar – it really is that simple! The range of acidity may differ depending on which brand you’re using.

Ways To Help When You’ve Eaten Gluten

It happens. No matter how careful we are, there will be times when we accidentally eat gluten. Whether you’re at a friend’s house, or in a restaurant – unfortunately, it seems to be part of the gluten-free life. But what can you do to feel better as quickly as possible? We’ve already seen that a small amount of apple cider vinegar can help your body digest gluten. But what else can you do? Let’s take a look.

  • Peppermint Tea. I used to despise peppermint tea, but since my diagnosis (especially in the early days), it became my best friend. I was accidentally glutening myself all the time, and peppermint tea would really help nausea and my stomach to settle quicker
  • Imodium. Imodium has been a lifesaver for me over the years. With nausea and Diarrhoea, eating gluten can be an awful experience. But Imodium can stop that in the short term until the gluten leaves your system
  • Fasting. If you’ve eaten a large amount of gluten, it may be best to give your body a rest for a day or two. This will give your immune system a chance to reset and the time to recover
  • Ginger. This is something that helps my nausea, which often lasts several days. I carry crystallized ginger in my purse and pop a cube or two whenever nausea becomes overwhelming
  • Tummy Rescue Smoothie. This smoothie comes from and it can be a great start to getting your body back on track

Tummy Rescue Smoothie Ingredients

  • 1 cup of hot nettle leaf tea
  • ¼ cup of pear juice
  • ¼-½ teaspoon of whole fennel seed
  • 2 tablespoons of slippery elm powder
  • 1 tablespoon of flaxseed oil
  • ¼ – ½ cup rice milk (use for consistency you require)

Learn more about Anti Gluten Pill: Does It Work?

Types Of Vinegar

There are many types of vinegar that you may come across. Let’s take a look at some of the most popular vinegars and whether they’re suitable for a gluten-free diet.

Balsamic Vinegar

Balsamic vinegar is made using grapes. Balsamic vinegar, like apple cider vinegar, is naturally gluten-free. There is a very small chance of cross-contact with balsamic vinegar because of the way it’s aged. However, it would be such a small amount of gluten, that balsamic is considered safe for consumption.

Distilled White Vinegar

There is a lot of debate around distilled white vinegar. Most of the time it’s made from gluten-containing grains. However, the distillation process usually removes the gluten. However, it’s not something I personally risk when there are many other gluten-free vinegars options for me to try.

Malt Vinegar

Malt vinegar is derived from barley malt. Barley is a gluten-containing grain, so this particular vinegar should be avoided at all costs.

Rice Vinegar

Rice vinegar is generally considered safe for gluten-free consumption. However, some rice vinegars do contain barley malt, so it’s always worth checking the ingredients labels to ensure it’s definitely gluten-free.

Rice Vinegar

Wine Vinegar

Wine vinegar is made using either red or white wine. Both of which are naturally gluten-free, so much like apple cider vinegar, wine vinegar is also considered gluten-free.

Flavored Vinegar

Without knowing the brand and the flavor, it’s impossible to predict whether it contains gluten. With flavored vinegar, it’s always best to check the labels, just in case; as every brand is different.

Read more about Gluten Intolerances and Acne: Fact Or Fiction?


I hope this has helped to answer the question is apple cider vinegar gluten-free? And give you an idea of which other vinegars we can safely consume when following a gluten-free diet. As long as you’re always checking labels, it’s relatively easy to navigate the world of gluten-free vinegar.

Do you know of any other gluten-free vinegars that didn’t make the list? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!


Can Coeliacs Eat Cider Vinegar?

Yes. Apple cider vinegar is made from apples and is considered to be gluten free. Other vinegars can be derived from gluten containing grains, but because this vinegar is derived from apples - it's completely gluten free! 

Is Apple Cider Vinegar Good for Gluten Intolerance?

Yes! In fact, my doctor recommended me to drink a small amount of apple cider vinegar when I've accidentally eaten gluten. This is because it breaks down all foods (including gluten) and is a great aid for digestion - and that is exactly what your system needs when you've eaten gluten. However, do not treat apple cider vinegar as a way for you to consume gluten easier - it is still best to avoid gluten at all costs.

Is Vinegar Gluten Free?

Most vinegar is gluten free. However, there is one popular vinegar in particular that springs to mind that is absolutely not gluten free - malt vinegar. Malt vinegar is derived from barley, which is a gluten containing grain and therefore should not be eaten on a gluten free diet. Whether the barley has been distilled or not, I would avoid this particular vinegar.