Last Updated on June 14, 2024
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does popcorn have gluten in it? And taking a look at which brands of popcorn are safe to consume when following a gluten free diet. Popcorn is a great snack and it can be relatively nutritious too, depending on which flavor you buy. It’s a well loved snack all around the world, but does popcorn have gluten in it? Let’s take a closer look.
Table of Contents
What Is Popcorn?
There are six major types of corn, with popcorn being one of the most popular. Popcorn is a type of kernel which when heated, expands and pops – and that’s where it gets it’s infamous name. The kernel contains the seed’s starchy shell with around 15-20% moisture. When heated, this turns to steam. The most common types of flavored popcorn are sweet, salted and butter. However, there are unlimited choices when it comes to popcorn nowadays.
Ingredients In Popcorn
You may be wondering what the ingredients are when it comes to popcorn. The ingredients in popcorn can vary depending on which brand you’re buying and what flavor the popcorn is. However, if you’re making your own popcorn, the only ingredients will typically be:
- corn kernels
- oil
Salt and butter are usually added too.
Nutritional Information Of Popcorn
You may be curious as to the nutritional value when it comes to popcorn. Each 100g of popcorn typically contains the following:
- Calories: 375
- Fat: 4.3g
- Saturated Fat: 0.6g
- Sodium: 7mg
- Potassium: 274mg
- Carbohydrates: 74g
- Dietary Fiber: 13g
- Protein: 11g
- Sugar: 0.9g
Does Popcorn Have Gluten In It?
As popcorn is made from corn (which is a gluten free grain), in it’s most natural form, popcorn will always be gluten free. If you’re looking for a quick snack, even if you have celiac disease, popcorn is typically gluten free and safe to consume.
However, if flavorings or spices have been added to the popcorn, this may mean it’s not gluten free. Butter, sweet and salted popcorn is usually gluten free. Other flavors may vary, so be sure to check the ingredients for the most up to date information.
Also, cross contact is something you need to keep in mind. Due to harvesting, milling and preparation methods, corn may come into contact with gluten during these processes. If this is the case, it should be clearly displayed on the ingredients label.
Is Microwave Popcorn Gluten Free?
When it comes to enjoying popcorn at home, microwave popcorn is my popcorn of choice. Typically, microwave popcorn is gluten free. Jolly Time and Butterkist are two leading brands of microwave popcorn; both of which display clear gluten free labels on their products. For this reason, we can safely enjoy both.
Is Butter Popcorn Gluten-Free?
Yes. Butter popcorn usually only contains corn kernels, butter, salt and oil. None of those ingredients contain any gluten. However, you may want to check as every manufacturer is different, and will have differing processes.
Is Air Popped Popcorn Gluten Free?
Yes. There is no reason that air popped popcorn should contain any gluten. In it’s most natural form, air popped popcorn should always be safe for those following a gluten free diet.
Is All Popcorn Gluten Free?
In it’s natural form, all popcorn is completely gluten free. Mainly because popcorn is made from corn kernels. And corn is a gluten free grain. However, the problem arises when flavorings or toppings are added. Some of these will not be gluten free. This is why it’s always best to check ingredients labels, even if you think a product seems safe to eat.
Is Movie Theater Popcorn Safe?
In my personal experience, I’m yet to come across a movie theater popcorn that contains any gluten ingredients. However, there can be an issue with cross contact in movie theaters. Theaters typically sell gluten containing foods such as nachos and hot dogs. If you’re worried about cross contact, just make your server aware before ordering so that they can take all the necessary precautions when preparing your order.
Gluten Free Popcorn Brands
If you’re looking for brands that make gluten free claims, then look no further. Here’s a roundup of our top picks of gluten free popcorn.
Act II – Does Popcorn Have Gluten In It?
They offer 10 varieties of microwave popcorn, all of which are considered gluten free to less than 20ppm of gluten (which is considered the safe amount. The flavors are:
- butter
- light butter
- butter lovers
- xtreme butter
- movie theater butter
- homestyle
- kettle corn
- buttery kettle corn
- 94% fat free butter
- llama party cotton candy
Angie’s BOOMCHICKAPOP
Firstly, I love this brand simply for the name alone. They offer a wide selection of bagged popcorn. Some of the standout flavors include:
- sea salt
- sweet and salty kettle corn
- white cheddar
- light kettle corn
- cheddar cheese
- real butter
- caramel and cheddar
These products are certified gluten free. This means that every product must meet strict guidelines set by the FDA and undergoes rigorous testing before it hits the shelves.
SkinnyPop Popcorn
Another popular bagged popcorn which is “always gluten free” according to the company, is SkinnyPop. They also have mini popcorn cakes, popcorn chips and microwave popcorn. They are certified gluten free, which means these products are as safe as can be for us. Some of their gluten free flavors are:
- sea salt and pepper
- real butter
- aged white cheddar
- twist of lime
- sweet vanilla kettle
- cheddar and sour cream
- salted caramel
This list is by no means extensive and other popular favorites include Bob’s Red Mill, Pop Secret, Jolly Time, Black Jewell Popcorn and Arrowhead Mills.
Conclusion – Does Popcorn Have Gluten In It?
I hope this post has helped to answer the question: does popcorn have gluten in it? And also given you an idea of which brands you can safely enjoy on a gluten free diet.
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.