Do Lentils Contain Gluten? (Top GF Lentils)

Last Updated on September 1, 2024

What warning signs should you be looking out for when purchasing lentils? Are they all gluten-free? Lentils are one of the most natural foods available, so they must be safe for us to eat? Well, not always…

Let’s take a deeper look into the world of lentils!

What Are Lentils?

Lentils are part of the legumes family. They grow in pods and look like tiny lenses. They’re known to have a very mild, earthy flavor. Like other legumes, lentils are extremely good for you. They are high in protein and fiber and are great when working towards a balanced diet. They’re actually one of the foods recommended to add to your diet when you first receive your diagnosis. They’re a great substitute for cereal grains that you’ll no longer be able to eat.

Other legumes you may like to include in your diet are beans and peas.

Are Lentils Gluten-Free?

In their purest form, lentils are gluten-free. They will have no additives and will be as natural as they come. In fact, those on a gluten-free diet are encouraged to fill their diet with legumes such as lentils to replace what has been lost from gluten.

Gluten is found in cereal grains such as wheat, rye, and barley, and in their purest form, you will not find gluten in any part of the legumes family – lentils included.

However, much like any food – there is a chance of cross-contact. This means that although there are no gluten-containing ingredients in the lentils, due to growing and packaging methods – the end product may contain traces of gluten. Therefore, when buying lentils that do not carry a gluten-free label (even if no gluten ingredients), we encourage you to wash them before cooking and eating them. Or better yet, opt for brands that do carry a gluten-free label – we’ll be looking at those soon!

This is the case for any kind of lentils, brown, red, green, etc. They will all carry the same risks – so it’s always best to be as careful as you possibly can be. 

Find more information about is baby formula gluten free?

lentils gluten

Gluten-Free Lentils Brands

Even though lentils are naturally gluten-free, there are quite a few brands that come recommended within the gluten-free community. These are brands that take cross-contact very seriously, and you’re not likely to have any problems with these products. Let’s take a look at some of our favorites.

Just Natural Organic

Just Natural Organic is a UK company and it has some very reasonably priced products. Especially considering they’re certified gluten-free (among other things!). When something is certified gluten-free, this means that it’s as safe as can possibly be for celiac and gluten intolerant individuals. It means that it has met strict guidelines set by the FDA. And that each product is tested for any traces of gluten.

It’s definitely worth checking out their products as they have a huge range of gluten-free products that you may like to try, especially if you’re from the UK! You can find out more about Just Natural Organic here.

Nuts.Com

Nuts.Com is a brand that I recommend time and time again. You just type in what you’re looking for and tick the gluten-free box at the side, and everything you can eat with no problem at all will appear before your eyes – including lentils. They have several gluten-free lentil options available, including:

  • Organic Sprouted Lentil Blend
  • Popped Lentils with Salt
  • Ranch Popped Lentils

The organic sprouted lentil blend is a mixture of brown, black, and green lentils and is perfect for a nutritional boost! Check out their lentils here.

Health Benefits from Lentils

You may even find some health benefits when adding lentils to your diet. As we mentioned earlier, they’re high in protein and fiber. But they’re also good for adding B vitamins, minerals, and amino acids. They’re great for managing blood pressure, cholesterol and giving you a boost of energy.

If you’re struggling with how to add lentils to your diet and don’t fancy them just as a snack, why not try adding them to pilaf, dahl, soups, chili, or salads? They go well in most meals, really!

Read more information Can Celiac Disease Cause Weight Gain?

Conclusion

I hope this post has helped to answer the question: do lentils contain gluten? And helped you to become more familiar with the amazing gluten-free lentil brands out there. Of course, you can buy lentils that do not carry a gluten-free label and wash them thoroughly, but if you’re particularly sensitive to gluten or have celiac disease, it’s best to opt for the gluten-free brands above.