Last Updated on January 11, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are corn nuts gluten-free? And looking at the top gluten-free corn nuts brands available. Corn nuts are the perfect snack. They’re crunchy, tasty, and surprisingly filling. But are they suitable when following a gluten-free lifestyle? Let’s take a closer look.
What Are Corn Nuts?
Corn nuts are, unsurprisingly, made from corn. They’re roasted or deep-fried corn kernels. In parts of South America, they’re more commonly known as cancha. They come in a range of flavors and have become increasingly popular over recent years.
Are Corn Nuts Gluten-Free?
Naturally, corn nuts are gluten-free. The only ingredient in natural corn nuts, is of course, corn. And corn is completely gluten-free! Corn is not a cereal grain and does not contain any gluten. However, some gluten intolerant individuals are also intolerant to corn, so that is something to keep in mind if you’re still experiencing a gluten reaction when there is no gluten.
The only grains that you need to watch out for when following a gluten-free diet are barley, rye, wheat, and oats (unless gluten-free). So those are the ingredients you need to keep a watchful eye out for when grocery shopping.
Are Original Corn Nuts Gluten-Free?
Corn Nuts are a super popular brand that has been around for decades. If you’re a fan of Original Corn Nuts, we have some good news! Original Corn Nuts carry a gluten-free label and are safe to add to your diet. They’re even nutritious too!
The only ingredients in Original Corn Nuts are:
- Corn Oil
They’re the perfect treat to keep in your handbag and snack on throughout the day.
Are Ranch Corn Nuts Gluten-Free?
Ranch Corn Nuts are another flavor that comes from the CornNut brand. Let’s take a look at the ingredients. They are as follows:
- Corn Oil
- Corn Syrup
- Tomato Powder
- Onion Powder
- Garlic Powder
- Turmeric Extract
- Vinegar Powder
- Natural Flavor
- Artificial Flavor
You are correct in guessing that the ranch flavor is completely gluten-free too! In fact, all 5 of the flavors available are safe to consume on a gluten-free diet. Those flavors are:
- Chile Picante con Limon
- Jalapeño Cheddar
There is no need to go without Corn Nuts once you receive your diagnosis!
Gluten-Free Corn Nuts
CornNuts are not the only brand available for us. In fact, there are gluten-free brands cropping up all the time! Let’s take a look at some other fan favorites.
INKA Corn products are certified gluten-free. When products carry a gluten-free certification, this means that each product has gone through rigorous testing for gluten and has to meet strict guidelines set by the FDA to receive its gluten-free status. So these corn nuts are as safe as they come!
The gluten-free flavors you’ll find available are:
- Cheese Flavor (Giant Corn)
- Chile Picante Flavor Giant Corn Chile Picante Flavor (Giant Corn)
- Chile Picante Flavor (Giant Corn)
- Giant Corn Original Flavor
- Giant Corn Sea And Salt Vinegar Flavor
- Carolina BBQ (Giant Corn)
They seem to be adding more flavors all the time, so be sure to keep an eye out on their website for any new flavors here.
Another great brand is Sincerely Nuts. It’s easy to navigate different lifestyles and diets you may have on their website, and they have a large selection of gluten-free foods – including corn nuts!
Their range of corn nuts include:
- Corn Kernels Roasted (Salted)
- Jumbo Corn Kernels
- Chili Lemon Corn Kernels
- Ranch Corn Kernels
- BBQ Corn Kernels
- Spicy Corn Kernels
They even have an assorted corn nut tray with all of the different varieties for just $19.99. If you would like to purchase this, you can find it here. Sincerely Nuts also have a wide selection of other gluten-free foods, so they are definitely worth checking out to stock up your gluten-free cupboard!
Other Brands of Corn Nuts
It’s important to note that most plain corn nuts will contain no gluten. However, if it does not carry a gluten-free label, there is a chance of cross-contact. Cross contact is when the product itself does not contain gluten, but due to the growing, manufacturing, and transporting methods, it may have come into contact with gluten-containing foods. Therefore, making the end product not gluten-free.
This is always a risk of this when buying foods that do not carry a gluten-free label. However, if you do not have celiac disease or your intolerance to gluten is mild, you should be absolutely fine eating corn nuts this way.
It’s also always worth checking your local grocery stores or health stores, as it may surprise you at the amount of gluten-free products you’ll come across – especially in health stores! So as long as you’re being extra vigilant, it’s super easy to eat corn nuts with ease when following a gluten-free diet!
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are corn nuts gluten-free? And opened your eyes to the world of gluten-free corn nuts! There really are so many options available. What’s great about corn nuts is that they’re also very nutritious; helping to increase your fiber and carbohydrate daily intake. Although they should be eaten in moderation, as they are quite high in fat and sodium. But super easy to add to your diet and keep you fuller for longer.
Do you have any other gluten-free suggestions? If so, please feel free to leave any comments or suggestions in the comments below. I look forward to hearing from you – I love reading them!
One other thing, are there any other fans of Heathers the Musical out there? I can’t think of corn nuts without being reminded of my favorite musical – anyone else?!
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.