What To Use Insead Of Cornmeal For Your Cornbread  


Today we’re going to be looking at cornmeal substitute for cornbread. Not all substitutes are gluten-free, so let’s look at the top substitutes to use. 

What Is Cornmeal?

Cornmeal is made of yellow corn that has been ground down. It comes in a variety of textures, such as fine, medium, and coarse. You’ll most likely recognize cornmeal as the main ingredient in cornbread.

Terrain Map

The simple answer to this question is: it depends. In it’s most natural form, cornmeal is 100% gluten-free. However, that is not always the case with the cornmeal products you find in your local grocery stores.

Is Cornmeal Gluten-Free?

– Cornmeal has different uses in every recipe, so be sure to know what cornmeal is adding to the recipe you’re making – Try to use something that has a corny taste – Try to find a replacement with a similar consistency

Cornmeal Replacement For Cornbread

Corn Grits

The perfect replacement for cornmeal in cornbread is corn grits. As corn grits are also made from corn, if you’re wanting the strong corny taste in cornbread, this is the option for you.

For more gluten-free Tips Visit

Dashed Trail

Liked this story?

Click  to explore


Why I Live Outdoors