Citric acid is most commonly confused with citrus fruits – they are most definitely not the same thing! However, they do have the same taste. Citric acid is a white powder that you’ll find in food and drink products.
While citric acid can come from citrus fruits, and in its the most natural form, it does. However, the volume of citric acid used in food and drink products is too great for the supply of citrus fruits that are available.
As you probably noticed in the list above, citric acid is sometimes derived from wheat. However, there is no need for concern. Due to the manufacturing process, the end result will always be gluten-free.