Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does couscous have gluten? And looking at gluten-free couscous brands you may like to try when following a gluten-free diet.
Gluten is a protein you will find present in cereal grains. The cereal grains you’ll need to avoid when following a gluten-free diet are wheat, rye, barley, and oats (unless certified GF oats).
Couscous looks very much like rice. However, it’s technically pasta! Couscous is durum wheat semolina that has been made into granules or small spheres.
Unfortunately, most couscous is not gluten-free. Couscous’ main ingredient is semolina. Semolina is a wheat product and wheat is definitely not a gluten-free food.
If you live in the UK, many stores offer gluten-free couscous that’s relatively easy to find! It’s a little harder to source in the US, but definitely possible!
If you’re finding gluten-free couscous too expensive or difficult to source, there are many alternatives you can try that are a good substitute for couscous.