Is Whey Protein Concentrate Gluten Free?

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is whey protein concentrate gluten-free? But first, let’s take a look at what it is. And then we’ll determine whether it’s safe to consume when following a gluten-free lifestyle. If you’re looking for some gluten-free whey protein powders – then look no further!

What Is Whey?

Whey is a type of protein that comes from milk. After milk has been through the straining process, the remaining liquid is whey. It can be used to make cheese. It’s more commonly known as a protein supplement. It is great for a range of uses such as strength increase and bettering your athleticism. It’s also been proven to have positive effects on your immune system and nutrition.

 is whey gluten free

Is Whey Gluten-Free?

In short – the answer is yes! Whey is naturally gluten-free. This is because the whey protein itself does not contain any form of gluten. You may see whey on packaging listed as “whey concentrate”, “whey hydrolysate” or “whey isolate”. All those variations of whey are gluten-free and are consumable on a gluten-free diet.

Does Whey Protein Have Gluten?

As we’ve seen, whey protein is naturally gluten-free and suitable for consumption. However, whey protein powder is a different substance and one we must look at in more detail.

Is Whey Protein Powder Gluten-Free?

This is the ingredient you’ll most often see in your protein shakes and powders. It’s important to note that most whey protein powders are not usually gluten-free. They’re not usually made from just whey protein and often have many additional ingredients. Even if the packaging seems gluten-free, be sure to check the labels as protein powder can be sneaky!

Flavorings, preservatives, and thickeners are often ingredients in whey protein powder. So besides the obvious, rye, barley, and wheat, you may want to also look out for the following warning words on ingredient labels:

  • wheat protein
  • malt
  • spelt
  • bulgur
  • oats
  • modified food starch
  • artificial flavorings

Some of these may be safe, but the label will state if any of the above ingredients have derived from gluten.

Manufacturing Methods

Something to also bear in mind is manufacturing methods. While there may not be any gluten-containing ingredients, it may have come into cross-contact with such ingredients when being made. You can check this on the packaging, or if you’re still unsure – contact the company yourself. Whether it’s a phone call or an email, companies are usually more than happy to help.

Cross contact is always a risk if a product isn’t certified gluten-free, so if you’re super sensitive or live with celiac disease, it may be best opting for certified products only.

Gluten-Free Protein Powder

When looking online, there’s a range of gluten-free protein powders available. Let’s have a round-up of the best gluten-free protein powders on offer.

Ritual Essential Protein

The Ritual Protein Daily Shake is gluten-free, soy-free, sugar-free, and vegan-friendly. Making this powder suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles. It’s around $40 a bag and has a sweet, vanilla flavor. The great thing about this gluten-free alternative is that you can put it in any liquid – and shake away! The main ingredient is actually pea protein – who would have thought!?

Per 30g serving, it packs in a huge 20g of protein – how incredible is that?

Orgain Organic Plant Protein Powder

Orgain’s protein powder is gluten-free, soy-free, kosher, vegan, non-GMO, AND organic. This gluten-free alternative is a good choice as it comes in a range of 9 flavors, including:

  • Chocolate Fudge
  • Iced Matcha Latte
  • Natural Unsweetened
  • Peanut Butter
  • Sweet Vanilla Bean

You can take a look at their other flavors on offer here. It’s made from a blend of pea, brown rice, and chia seed protein.

This one just knocks out our first brand with 21g of protein per serving! And it’s significantly cheaper at around $30 per bag.

Optimum Gold Standard Nutrition

The number one bestselling sports protein powder for over 20 years is gluten-free! It comes in a range of delicious flavors, including:

  • Banana Cream
  • Birthday Cake
  • Blueberry Cheese Cake
  • Cake Butter
  • Cake Donut
  • Chocolate Coconut
  • Chocolate Hazelnut
  • Choc Malt
  • Choc Mint
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Coffee
  • Cookies and Cream
  • Double Rich Chocolate
  • Extreme Milk Chocolate
  • French Vanilla Cream
  • Gingerbread
  • Key Lime Pie

and so much more! Now that’s a lot of flavors. It’s around $20, depending on the size you require. With an amazing 24g of protein per serving, it’s not hard to see why this brand is a much-loved favorite.

Garden Of Life Raw Organic Fit Protein Powder

With a staggering 56 gluten-free options on offer and a range of ongoing offers, Garden of Life is a great choice. You can find a full list of flavors here. Organic, non-GMO, and filled with pure protein and essential amino acids, you won’t regret this choice.

They’re around $30-$40 and there’s a lot of delicious flavors – some really different ones to, to keep your lifestyle exciting! The best part is, the brand is certified gluten-free (and certified vegan, kosher, non-GMO, and organic). This means that the brand is as safe as they come for gluten intolerant individuals.

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped answer the question: is whey protein concentrate gluten-free? There are a range of options available to us, in a variety of yummy flavors. Just be sure to always check the packaging and ingredients label. Even if you’re familiar with a brand, ingredients, and manufacturing methods are subject to change at any time.

Be sure to check which protein powder you’re opting for. Some are directly aimed at helping with weight loss, increasing strength, and a host of other reasons.

Did I miss your favorite off the list? Or are there any other brands you’d recommend? Please feel free to leave any suggestions in the comments below. I love reading through them all. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Is Cheesecake Filling Gluten Free?

Leave a Comment!