Is Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice Gluten Free? Gluten Free Instant Rice

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice gluten-free? And taking a look at the best gluten-free instant rice brands on offer when following a gluten-free diet.

Rice is one of the best foods to consider adding to your diet when you receive your diagnosis. Plain rice is naturally gluten-free and a great substitute for replacing cereal grains. It’s the perfect accompaniment to many meals such as Indian and Mexican dishes.

Uncle Ben’s is one of the most popular rice brands worldwide, and it’s not difficult to see why. They don’t just have a range of products, including sauces, dry rice, rice pots, and microwave rice – but they all come in a variety of flavors too! But are they gluten-free? Let’s take a look.

Ingredients In Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice

Let us dive straight into the ingredients that you will find in the Original Basmati Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice. The ingredients are:

  • Water
  • Salt
  • Basmati Rice
  • Canola Oil/Sunflower Oil
  • Soy Lecithin

Is Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice Gluten-Free?

As you can see from the ingredients, the Original Basmati Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice does not contain any gluten ingredients. However, this is not the case for all of the flavors of Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice. Most flavors of Ready Rice do not contain gluten, but it’s always best to check the ingredients label, in case there have been any changes.

Some flavors that do not contain gluten ingredients are:

  • Mexican Style Rice
  • Coconut Chili and Lemongrass Rice
  • Golden Vegetable Rice
  • Indian Style Spiced Rice
  • Lightly Flavored Garlic Rice
  • Quinoa and Beans Tex-Mex Style Rice
  • Savory Chicken Flavor Rice
  • Special Fried Rice
  • Sriracha Rice
  • Korean Barbeque Rice
  • Peri-Peri Rice
  • Teriyaki Rice
  • Tomato and Basil Rice
  • Vegetable Pilau Rice

It’s important to note that these products do not display a gluten-free label. This means that the products are not tested for gluten. So although none of the ingredients contain gluten, there is a chance of cross-contact. Cross contact is when products that do not contain gluten are prepared, packaged, and stored in the same area as gluten-containing foods. This will mean that the end product may contain traces of gluten.

However, celiacs and gluten intolerants can enjoy most flavors with no problems. According to The Gluten Free Bar, it’s rated 8/10 on their gluten-free confidence score. This is because although many flavors are safe, there are a few that do contain gluten. So always read labels carefully.

Is Instant Rice Gluten-Free?

There is no clear answer to this question. The answer is: sometimes. While most instant rice is naturally gluten-free, that is not the case for all rice, especially those that have been flavored. It’s more than likely that plain rice with no additional flavor will be gluten-free (although always worth checking). And that if the rice has been flavored, it may contain gluten – so always best to check the label.

Every brand is different and some gluten-free flavored rice from one brand, may not be gluten-free in another. As long as you’re extra vigilant when making any purchases – you’ll be able to enjoy rice easily.

Gluten-Free Instant Rice

Like with any food you’re purchasing, it’s always best to opt for products that contain a certified gluten-free label. This means that the products must meet strict guidelines set by the FDA and each product goes through rigorous testing to ensure its gluten-free status. Let’s take a look at some of the best-certified gluten-free instant rice.

Minute

Minute is a US brand that offers many types of gluten-free rice. They carry a gluten-free label, which means that they’re as safe as can be. According to the Minute’s FAQ page, the gluten-free flavors are as follows:

  • Brown Rice (Instant)
  • Jasmine Rice (Instant)
  • Rice & Quinoa (Instant)
  • Instant Premium Rice
  • Instant White Rice
  • Cilantro & Lime Jasmine Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Garlic & Olive Oil Jasmine Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Southwest Pinto Beans and Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Brown Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Basmati Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Brown Rice & Quinoa (Ready to Serve)
  • Brown & Wild Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Chicken Flavored Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Jasmine Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Multi-Grain Medley (Ready to Serve)
  • Brown Organic Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Organic Red Quinoa & Brown Rice with Garlic (Ready to Serve)
  • Organic White Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • White Rice (Ready to Serve)

  • White & Red Quinoa (Ready to Serve)
  • Yellow Rice (Ready to Serve)

The main ingredients you’ll find in Minute rice are water, parboiled rice, sunflower oil, sea salt, and sunflower lecithin. Not a whiff of gluten in sight!

FullGreen

Another brand that you may like to consider is FullGreen Riced and Riced. Although it may not be traditional rice, it’s a certified gluten-free brand that comes in a range of styles and flavors. You can find their rice made from a range of vegetables like cauliflower rice and sweet potato rice – which personally, I love.

Their gluten-free flavors are:

  • Cauliflower Rice
  • Sweet Potato Rice
  • Broccoli and Cauliflower Rice
  • Cauliflower Rice with Tomato, Garlic, and Herbs
  • Buffalo Ranch Rice (Riced Ideas)
  • Portobello Mushroom Rice (Riced Ideas)
  • Sundried Tomato Rice (Riced Ideas)
https://www.fullgreen.com/products/fullgreen-mixed-case-riced-riced-ideas-case-of-6

How amazing do they sound?! And extremely nutritious too!

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: is Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice gluten-free? And helped you to become more familiar with some of the amazing gluten-free ready rice we have available when following a gluten-free diet.

Rice is one of the easiest foods to find gluten-free and a staple food you should always have stocked in your pantry. Are there any gluten-free rice brands that didn’t make the list and you think are worth mentioning? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Does Risotto Have Gluten?