Last Updated on April 1, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is there gluten in ice cream? And taking an extensive look at the best gluten-free ice creams available to us. Nothing beats the creamy taste of ice cream. I know some people only like to eat ice cream in the summer – but I’m open to eating ice cream year-round. Anyone else?
Sometimes, ice cream can contain gluten. But why is that? Let’s take a closer look at ice cream and when and why it may contain gluten.
Ingredients In Ice Cream
While you can put almost anything into ice cream and make any flavor, the most popular flavor of ice cream is the traditional vanilla. If you’re making vanilla ice cream, the only ingredients you’ll need are:
- sweetened condensed milk
- heavy cream
- vanilla extract
It really is that easy!
When Is Ice Cream Not Gluten Free?
In short: ice cream is not always gluten-free. If you’re having a standard flavor like strawberry or vanilla – it’s highly unlikely to contain any gluten. However, if you’re opting for a flavor that’s slightly more exciting such as Cookie Dough, Rocky Road, or Birthday Cake, there’s a much higher chance that these flavors will contain gluten. If you’re unsure, be sure to check the ingredients label or ask your server for a full allergens guide; they’ll likely be more than happy to help with any queries you have.
Learn more about: Is Soft-Serve Ice Cream Gluten-Free?
Gluten Free Ice Cream
Ben & Jerry’s
While there are a lot of Ben & Jerry’s flavors we need to avoid when following a gluten-free diet, they actually have a huge range of certified gluten-free flavors! When a product has been certified gluten-free, it goes through rigorous testing and must meet strict guidelines set by the FDA – meaning it’s as safe as possible for us!
The following flavors are gluten-free:
- Cherry Garcia
- Chunky Monkey
- Coffee Coffee Buzz Buzz Buzz
- New York Super Fudge Chunk
- Phish Food
- Pistachio Pistachio
- Vanilla Caramel Fudge
- Cherry Garcia (non-dairy)
- Karamel Sutra Core (non-dairy)
- Phish Food (non-dairy)
- Bananas Foster (non-dairy)
- Boom Chocolatta (non-dairy)
You can find their full range of gluten-free flavors here. They even stock mini cups and frozen yoghurts, gluten-free. It’s worth noting that their products are also Fairtrade and non-GMO.
Haagen Dazs is definitely one of the best places to go for gluten-free ice cream. The following flavors will always display a gluten-free label, so keep an eye out for it when purchasing your ice cream.
The following flavors are gluten-free:
- Banana Peanut Butter Ice Cream
- Butter Pecan Ice Cream
- Chocolate Ice Cream
- Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream
- Chocolate Salted Fudge Truffle
- Chocolate Sea Salt Caramel Heaven Light Ice Cream
- Coconut Caramel
- Coffee Chip Ice Cream
- Coffee Ice Cream
- Cold Brew Espresso Chip Heaven Light Ice Cream
- Dulce de Leche Ice Cream
- Green Tea Ice Cream
- Honey Salted Caramel Almond Ice Cream
- Mango Ice Cream
- Mint Chip Ice Cream
- Peppermint Bark Ice Cream
- Pineapple Coconut Ice Cream
- Pistachio Ice Cream
- Rocky Road Ice Cream
- Rum Raisin Ice Cream
- Vanilla Ice Cream
- Strawberry Ice Cream
- Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
- Vanilla Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
- White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Ice Cream
- Vanilla Swiss Almond Ice Cream
There really is a huge selection! And you can find the full list here.
If you’re looking to support some smaller brands, there are plenty of other choices you may wish to try. Some other gluten-free brands are:
- Arctic Zero
- DF Mavens
- Wink Frozen Desserts
- Steve’s Ice Cream
- So Delicious
- Luna and Larry’s Coconut Bliss
- Breyers (they have an incredible 30 flavors on offer!)
It’s always best to opt for ice cream that carries a gluten-free label, but most ice cream if plain is completely safe.
Read more about: Is McDonald’s Ice Cream Gluten-Free?
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: is there gluten in ice cream? And gives you an idea of just how easy it is to enjoy ice cream when following a gluten-free diet. We definitely don’t need to miss out when it comes to eating ice cream. One thing you need to be wary of is the cones! Ice cream cones are very rarely gluten-free – so be sure to give them a miss.
What’s your favorite gluten-free ice cream? Mine is chocolate or vanilla – I like my ice cream plain! Let me know yours in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Can You Eat Ice Cream if You’re Gluten Intolerant?
Of course! It's actually relatively easy to enjoy ice cream. And when eating out, it's often the only gluten free dessert on the menu in restaurants. There is one issue you need to be careful of though when it comes to ice cream - cross contact. Whether you're eating in a Dairy Queen or a restaurant, cross contact is likely to happen. Even if you're sure the ice cream does not contain gluten, make sure your server is aware of any intolerances you have, so they can ensure they're being as safe as possible.
Why is There Gluten in Ice Cream?
It's important to note, that while ice cream can easily be gluten free - there are times when it may contain gluten! This is usually down to the flavor or toppings that you choose. For example, if you choose an Oreo ice cream - unless they're using gluten free Oreos, it will not be gluten free. Gluten is only usually added to ice cream if it's a particular flavor. You do not need any gluten to make plain ice cream, like chocolate, strawberry, vanilla. etc.
What Ice Cream is Gluten Free?
There's a huge selection of gluten free ice cream. And it's always best to opt for products that carry a gluten free label. Some popular brands that are either completely gluten free, or offer gluten free options are Ben & Jerry's, Haagen Dazs, Breyer's, Dream, So Delicious, Steve's Ice Cream, Wink Frozen Desserts and Arctic Zero. We'll be taking a closer look at some of these brands in this post.