Last Updated on July 4, 2024
In this post we’re going to be answering the question: is Jello vanilla pudding gluten-free? But first, let’s look at what it is and what the ingredients are. Surely we’re all familiar with what Jello pudding is, but do you know whether it’s gluten-free? Let’s find out.
Table of Contents
What Is Jello Pudding Mix?
I’m sure you know what instant pudding mix is, but if you’re not familiar, it’s a food product that contains powder that you add milk to and whisk! The finished product is perfect as a pudding and pie filling. If you’re from the UK, Jello is very similar to Angel Delight.
Jello Pudding Mix comes in a range of flavors and absolutely delicious.
Vanilla Jello Pudding Mix Ingredients
Each flavor has slightly different ingredients, so we’ll be taking a look at the ingredients in their most popular flavor: vanilla. These ingredients include:
- Sugar
- Modified Cornstarch
- Dextrose
- Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate
- Disodium Phosphate
- Salt
- Calcium Sulfate
- Xanthan Gum
- Artificial Flavors
But are those ingredients gluten-free? Let’s take a look.
Is Jello Pudding Mix Gluten-Free?
Good news if you’re a fan of Jello pudding – almost every flavor is gluten-free! Kraft is the brand behind the Jello Pudding Mix products and are well known for being extremely reliable in listing ingredients correctly. The Gluten-Free Bar lists the Jello range as 9/10 in safety to consume when following a gluten-free diet.
It’s important to note that Kraft do not make any gluten-free claims for this product, so there is always a chance of cross-contact, but the risk for this product is significantly low. And this product is considered safe among the gluten-free community.
The varieties that are suitable for us (this is a long list – hurrah!) are:
- Banana Cream
- Caramel
- Butterscotch
- Chocolate Fudge (Cook and Serve)
- Banana Cream (Cook and Serve)
- Butterscotch (Cook and Serve)
- Chocolate (Cook and Serve)
- Coconut Cream (Cook and Serve)
- Lemon (Cook and Serve)
- Vanilla (Cook and Serve)
- Red Velvet (Cook and Serve)
- Pistachio (Cook and Serve)
- Pumpkin Pie (Cook and Serve)
- Devil’s Food (Cook and Serve)
- French Vanilla (Cook and Serve)
- White Chocolate
- Tapioca
Whether you’re looking for fat-free, sugar-free, simply good, or even sugar and fat free, there is something for everyone. It really does suit a huge range of dietary lifestyles.
Again, I just want to note that these are the varieties that contain no gluten ingredients, not ones that claim to be gluten-free. None of the Jello products make gluten-free claims.
NOTE: The Jello Instant Cheesecake Pudding & Pie Filling is not gluten-free. Barley is an ingredient you’ll find in this product. Barley is a cereal grain and is not gluten-free. Other cereal grains that are unsuitable when following a gluten-free diet are wheat, rye, spelt and oats (unless gluten-free).
Gluten-Free Instant Pudding
It’s important to note that most instant puddings brands you’ll come across will contain no gluten ingredients, but cross-contact may be a risk. If you’re unsure of whether a product is safe, products usually come with an email or phone number. Most companies are more than happy to provide additional information about their products to give you peace of mind.
If you’re looking for brands that are gluten-free, rather than just “considered” gluten-free – look no further!
Mom’s Place
Mom’s Place is a brand that is 100% gluten-free – meaning it’s as safe as can possibly be. While they may not have a huge range of flavors, they do have a massive selection of other gluten-free products too. They offer over 100 gluten-free products! Their gluten-free pudding mixes include:
- Gluten-Free Creamy Chocolate Pudding Mix
- Gluten-Free Vanilla Pudding Mix
There aren’t many ingredients at all in these mixes which can be bought directly from their website. The Vanilla Pudding Mix ingredients are:
“Sugar, Non-GMO Cornstarch, White Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Tapioca Flour, Xanthan Gum, Vanilla Powder, Salt”
Very few ingredients but still as utterly delicious!
Simply Delish
Another brand that is worth mentioning is Simply Delish. Their instant pudding mix range is ever-growing and completely gluten-free. Not only are they gluten-free, but the mixes are non-GMO, fat-free, lactose-free, nut-free, keto friendly, and vegan-friendly. This means that these products are suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.
Their flavors include:
- Chocolate Flavor Instant Pudding
- Strawberry Flavor Instant Pudding
- Vanilla Flavor Instant Pudding
- Banana Flavor Instant Pudding
They come highly recommended by the gluten-free community.
The ingredients in the Vanilla Flavor Pudding are:
“Potato Starch, Erythritol, Emulsifiers, Dextrin, Natural Flavor, Natural Color, Salt, Stevia Extract”
You can add milk, or a vegan alternative such as almond, soy, or coconut milk.
Conclusion
While it may not claim to be gluten-free, Jello pudding is considered to be by the gluten-free community. If you’re not comfortable eating products that don’t make gluten-free claims, there are plenty of other choices available such as Mom’s Place or Simply Delish.
Just be sure to always check the labels of anything you’re buying, even if you’ve bought the product before. This is because ingredient labels are susceptible to change at any time – and you definitely do not want to be caught out. This is more important when buying non-gluten-free claiming brands such as Jello.
Read more about: Trader Joe’s Coconut Cream Recipes
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.