Is Half and Half Gluten Free? (GF Brands)

Last Updated on January 11, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is half and half gluten free? And taking a look at half and half cream brands that are suitable for consumption when following a gluten-free lifestyle. When I first received my diagnosis, naively, I barely checked drinks labels at all. I assumed that there was no possible way there could be gluten in a drink! But boy, was I wrong. And sometimes, milk and dairy products can contain gluten. So is it half and half gluten-free? Let’s take a look.

What Is Half And Half?

Half and half is quite simple, half cream and half whole milk. It’s much richer than your standard milk and is ever so creamy. In the UK, it’s more commonly known as half cream or single cream. You’ll often use it in your morning coffee to make it even tastier, but you can add it to dishes too, including sauces, soups, and desserts.

Half And Half Ingredients List

The only ingredients you will usually find in half and half cream is…milk and cream! Sometimes there are additives, but this only applies to a few brands on the market. More often than not, it will just contain those two ingredients.

Is Half And Half Gluten-Free?

If you like half and half, we have some good news! It is almost always gluten-free. This is because milk (in its purest form) does not contain any gluten and is instead a dairy product. If flavorings or other ingredients have been added to milk (such as a milkshake), it may no longer be gluten-free.

It’s also worth mentioning cross-contact. Cross contact is when a non-gluten-containing product comes into contact with a gluten-containing product during manufacturing, packaging, transportation, etc. This would mean that the final product may contain traces of gluten. However, this is highly unlikely with products such as Half and Half. It’s almost impossible to find half and half brands that are certified gluten-free, as the risk of gluten is so low.

However, some brands may contain gluten ingredients, depending on the additives, so it’s always worth checking the label – even if there appears to be no gluten present. If gluten is an ingredient, or there is a risk of cross-contact, it will be clearly shown on the label. If you’re unsure and would like clarification, there are usually contact details on the packaging of any product, and companies are usually more than happy to help with any queries that you have.

Half And Half Cream Brands

If you’re looking for gluten-free half and half cream brands, look no further. It’s a product that is super easy to find with no gluten. Let’s take a look at some of our favorites.


Coffee Mate is one of the most popular creamer brands around the world. There’s a huge selection of flavors to choose from, but did you know that they are all gluten-free?! That’s right – we are okay to use all the incredible flavors they have to offer. These flavors include:

  • Original
  • Original Fat-Free
  • French Vanilla
  • French Vanilla Fat-Free
  • Hazelnut
  • Hazelnut Fat-Free
  • Italian Sweet Creme
  • Vanilla Caramel
  • Creme Brûlée
  • Cinnamon Vanilla Creme
  • Coconut Creme
  • Café Mocha
  • Toasted Marshmallow Mocha
  • Coconut Caramel Latte
  • The Cheesecake Factory At Home Strawberry Cheesecake
  • Peppermint Mocha
  • Snickers
  • Maple Latte
  • Caramel Latte
  • Dove Dark Chocolate Almond
  • Butterscotch Latte
  • Pumpkin Spice
  • Red Velvet
  • Vanilla Almond Milk (Natural Bliss)
  • Caramel Almond Milk (Natural Bliss)
  • Hazelnut Almond Milk (Natural Bliss)
  • Dark Chocolate Peppermint (Natural Bliss)
  • Pumpkin Spice (Natural Bliss)
  • Belgian Chocolate (Artisan Café)
  • Artisan Café Himalayan Salted Caramel
  • Artisan Café Tahitian Vanilla

Read more about is cafe rio gluten free?

brands of half and half

International Delight

International Delight is another brand that does a range of flavors, many similar to the ones from Coffee-mate. And guess what? None of those contain gluten either! International Delight’s FAQs state that, “No, International Delight does not contain gluten”, which means their products are safe for gluten intolerant individuals to consume.

Other Brands

Most brands that you come across in your local grocery store will be gluten-free, including Great Value, Land O Lakes, Hiland, and Horizon Organic. If you’re unsure of a product’s gluten-free status, be sure to check the ingredients label. However, if there’s no added flavor – it’s highly unlikely to contain gluten.

Making Your Own Half and Half

If you would like to make your own, you just need equal measures of whole milk and cream. This simple 5-minute recipe from Savory Simple is perfect if you want to be 100% certain of a product’s gluten-free status – and it’s super easy to do yourself!

How Long Does Half And Half Last?

If unopened, be sure to check the date before consuming. However, once opened, it will usually last for around a week (if in date). If unopened, it will usually last around 3 days after the best before date. Milk and cream are one of the easiest products to tell if they’ve gone bad. If it smells slightly sour or rancid, be sure to throw it out – it simply isn’t worth the risk.

Learn more about is baby formula gluten free?

Can You Freeze Half And Half?

Yes – you can definitely freeze half and half. However, it’s not necessarily recommended. It may be fine if just used to add to your coffee, but it can change the chemical levels, and it may not taste quite as good as it once did. You can freeze half and half for around 3 months in the freezer.



I hope this article has helped to answer the question: is half and half gluten-free? And helped you to become more familiar with some gluten-free brands of half and half, and creamers. It really couldn’t be easier to shop gluten-free for half and half!

Do you use half and half in your morning coffee? Or in any dishes? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below what you use.