Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is Ferrero Rocher gluten-free? And taking a look at some gluten-free alternatives you may like to try. Did you know that Ferrero is the third-largest confectionery brand in the world?! So it’s no wonder that these nutty balls of goodness are loved all over. But are they gluten-free? Are the different varieties of Ferrero Rocher gluten-free? Let’s take a closer look.
Ferrero Rocher Ingredients
Firstly, we need to take a look at the ingredients in the original Ferrero Rocher. The ingredients are:
- Milk Chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, skim milk powder, butteroil, soy lecithin, vanillin)
- Palm Oil
- Wheat Flour
- Low Fat Cocoa Powder
- Soy Lecithin
- Sodium Bicarbonate
Ferrero Rocher Allergy Information
Every food and drink product you buy will come with the necessary allergy information on the ingredients label. Ferrero Rocher contains the following allergen information:
“Contains Tree Nuts (Hazelnuts), Wheat, Milk, Soy”
As you can see, Ferrero Rocher is unsuitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.
Learn more about: Are Nestle Chocolate Chips Gluten-Free? GF Chocolate Chip Brands
Is Ferrero Rocher Gluten Free?
Ferrero Rocher does not make any gluten-free claims on its product and Ferrero Rocher does contain gluten. Wheat is one of the ingredients in this popular chocolate. If you have celiac disease or are gluten intolerant, you should avoid Ferrero Rocher at all times. We can keep our fingers crossed that in the future they make a gluten-free alternative for us.
Chocolates Like Ferrero Rocher
If you’re looking for an identical tasting and looking chocolate to Ferrero Rocher – you’re in luck! Schar has an incredible copycat Ferrero Rocher called Tempties. Described as a crunchy wafer, milk chocolate, and a luxurious praline center – what more could you ask for? They’re not only gluten-free, but also wheat-free, vegetarian, and preservative-free.
Tempties contain the following ingredients:
- milk chocolate
- hazelnut cream
- dark chocolate
- gluten-free wafer
The allergen information states that they may contain traces of eggs, peanuts, and other nuts. It’s also important to note that Tempties are currently only available in the UK and Ireland.
Gluten-Free Ferrero Rocher Recipe
If you’re looking to make your own GF alternatives – look no further. This recipe from Gluten Free Cuppa Tea is not just gluten-free – but also dairy-free and vegan! The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:
- 5 tablespoons of free-from chocolate spread
- 3 tablespoons of chopped hazelnuts
- whole hazelnuts
- gluten-free wafers
- 50g chopped hazelnuts
- 200g dark chocolate
All you need to do is follow these simple steps to make your delicious balls of goodness.
- In a bag, add the chopped hazelnuts and beat with a rolling pin until crushed
- Grab a freezer-proof bowl and spoon in your chocolate spread. Add around 2 tablespoons of your chopped hazelnuts and mix well
- Put in the freezer for around 45 minutes
- After taking out, allow it to soften for around 10 minutes, so it becomes more malleable
- Take a Ferrero Rocher-sized ball of the mixture and place a whole hazelnut in the middle. Roll the mixture with your hands and make a ball shape (this will be messy!)
- Put the balls onto parchment paper and place them in the freezer until they are solid – they should take no longer than 30 minutes
- While the balls are in the freezer, crush the GF wafer
- Take the balls from the freezer and leave to soften for around five minutes
- After 5 minutes, grab the balls and roll them in the crushed gluten-free wafer (they should stick to the balls with ease). And place back in the freezer
- Melt the chocolate in a saucepan or in the microwave and leave to cool
- Add the chopped nuts to the now melted chocolate and combine well
- Take the balls from the freezer and coat them in the chocolate
- When covered, put the balls back onto the parchment paper and place them in the freezer to set
- If you’re ready to eat them, keep them in the fridge for best results (or room temperature) – however you like your chocolate
- Your Ferrero Rocher balls are complete!
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: is Ferrero Rocher gluten-free? And give you some delicious alternatives to satisfy that Ferrero Rocher craving you may have. It may not be the easiest alternative to find, but we can hope that in the future, Ferrero Rocher make us our own gluten-free option.
Do you know of any other gluten-free Ferrero Rocher options? If so, please let me know in the comments below. I would love to hear your thoughts. Sharing is caring!
Learn more about: Is Lindt White Chocolate Gluten-Free?
Do Ferrero Rocher Have Wheat In?
Unfortunately, the answer to this question is yes. Around 14% of each ball is wheat flour, which is of course, a grain we must avoid (along with other cereal grains such as rye, barley and oats). Gluten helps the texture of these tasty balls, and gives it an even better rise. While they're utterly delicious, they can not be eaten when following a gluten free lifestyle.
Are Ferrero Rocher Coconut Gluten Free?
Ferrero also make delicious balls of coconut chocolate called Raffaelo. Let's take a look at the ingredients. The ingredients include: desiccated coconut, vegetable fats, sugar, almond, skimmed milk powder, whey powder, wheat flour, tapioca starch, flavorings, lecithin, sodium bicarbonate and salt. As you can see from the ingredients, these treats are also not gluten free. They contain the following allergens: almonds, milk, wheat (gluten) and soya.
Which Chocolates are Gluten Free?
There are a range of gluten free chocolates available. The list of companies that offer gluten free alternatives is huge. It's important to note that not all of these brands are completely gluten free - so be sure to check the labels of anything you're purchasing. The following brands offer gluten free options: Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit, Dagoba Products, Hershey's, Ferrero (Butterfingers), Nestle, Reese's, Smarties and Cadbury. This list is by no means extensive, and just a selection of the most popular options available.