Last Updated on September 14, 2021
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is Crispix cereal gluten-free? It’s a popular household cereal that you’ll no doubt know already. But is it safe to eat when following a gluten-free diet? Let’s take a look. And also take a look at the top gluten-free cereals on the market.
What Is Crispix?
Crispix is a brand of cereal. The cereal is made by Kellogg’s and has been around for almost 40 years. It’s extremely popular and is known for it’s crispy rice on one side and crunchy corn on the other. It’s absolutely delicious and has always been the perfect way to start your day.
Is Crispix Cereal Gluten-Free?
There has been a lot of speculation over whether Crispix cereal is gluten-free. Many claim that it’s safe when following a gluten-free lifestyle, while others strongly disagree. Let’s take a look at the ingredients:
Taking a glance at the ingredients, there shouldn’t be anything that immediately stands out to you. That’s because none of those ingredients should, in theory, contain gluten of any kind. However, there has been debate whether the product is safe for consumption.
Is Malt Still An Ingredient In Crispix?
Malt flavor used to be a main ingredient in Crispix, which is not gluten-free. However, in the newer boxes, that ingredient no longer exists and has instead been replaced with brown rice syrup. The brand themselves do not market the product as gluten-free, and it’s important to bear that in mind.
According to Kellogg’s themselves, their only gluten-free products, are as follows:
- Bear Naked Bars and Granola
- Kashi bars, cereals, and waffles
- Special K Chewy Nut bars
As you can see, Crispix does not feature on that list. However, The Gluten-Free Bar has a 7 stage analysis that determines whether it’s suitable. You can check that out here. They rate the product as 7/10, in terms of it’s safety.
So even though the malt flavor has been removed from the ingredients list, and replaced with a gluten-free alternative, many still do not believe it’s safe. This is because of the manufacturing methods. It is not made in a separate facility and is not certified gluten-free.
As many other Kellogg’s cereals do contain gluten, there is a high risk of cross-contact with gluten-containing products. Also, as the product isn’t certified, it isn’t tested to determine whether their is any gluten present in the finished product.
Some gluten-free individuals are able to consume Crispix without any problems, but it all depends on the severity of your intolerance. If you have celiac disease, I would avoid Crispix altogether – it simply isn’t worth the risk when a brand so often makes gluten-containing products in the same workspace.
But never fear. If you’re a cereal lover, there’s plenty of other cereals out there that you can safely enjoy without any worries at all. Let’s take a look at some of the most popular gluten-free cereals.
Cheerios are a great place to start if you’re looking for an everyday gluten-free cereal, that’s easily accessible. They are available in almost every grocery store and comes in a range of delicious flavors. It’s important to note that if you have a separate oat allergy (which is extremely common in gluten-intolerant individuals), you should avoid these. The available flavors include:
- Honey Nut Cheerios
- Multi-grain Cheerios
- Cheerios with Whole-Grain Oats
- Chocolate Cheerios
Udi’s do a delicious gluten-free Vanilla Granola. It’s quite expensive at around $6 a bag, but easy to obtain from your local grocery store. Again, this option is made from certified gluten-free oats, so some individuals may need to approach this product with caution. However, this brand is perfect for breakfast or as an on-the-go snack.
Woohoo – this is one you can all enjoy. Not an oat in sight! Cocoa Pebbles are incredibly tasty and available in most grocery stores. This is a great option if you have a separate oat intolerance too. There’s a clear label on the packaging to display that it’s gluten-free – which is always great for peace of mind. The ingredients in this product are:
“Rice, Sugar, Canola Oil, Cocoa, Salt, Caramel Color, Natural and Artificial Flavor, BHT added to preserve freshness”
Their rich, chocolatey flavor makes it the perfect start to the day, or a yummy snack for on the move.
Chex cereal comes in a huge variety of flavors that are gluten-free. They also come available in a range of different sizes. Like the Cocoa Pebbles, the main ingredient in this cereal is rice. Rice is completely gluten-free and safe for consumption. The flavors of Chex cereal include:
- Cinnamon Chex
- Corn Chex
- Apple Cinnamon Chex
- Rice Chex
- Chocolate Chex
- Honey Nut Chex
- Blueberry Chex
- Peanut Butter Chex
That’s a whole lot of gluten-free Chex products!
I hope this article has helped you to answer the question: is Crispix cereal gluten-free? And given you lots of other alternatives to enjoying a bowl of cereal in the morning. This list is by no means exhaustive and I’m sure if you browse your local grocery store shelves, you’ll be surprised at the range of cereal on offer.
The most important thing to remember is to read the ingredients labels. Even if you’re familiar with a product and it’s ingredients – it never hurts to double-check, as things can change at any time.
Are there any gluten-free cereals I’ve missed that you think are worthy of a place on the list? Please feel free to leave it in the comments below. And I’d love to hear your experiences with Crispix cereal – positive or negative!
Read more about: Are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats Gluten Free?
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.