Gluten Free Taco Seasoning Brands (& GF Recipe)

Today, we’re going to be looking at the top gluten-free taco seasoning brands, as well as looking at how you can make your own gluten-free taco seasoning at home – with many of the ingredients probably already being in your pantry. Is taco seasoning usually gluten-free? Are there any substitutes you can use if you don’t have taco seasoning? Let’s take a look.

Tacos are a food that is loved by many, and with so many different fillings, it’s difficult not to like at least one variety. Beef brisket in tacos is my ultimate food choice! What’s yours?

Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Homemade

If you’re looking to make your own taco seasoning, look no further. Not only is it tastier, but you can also add and remove spices that you like and dislike. This is perfect if you’re a particularly fussy eater like me! Gimme Some Oven has an amazing homemade taco seasoning recipe. It’s gluten-free, preservative-free, and easy to tailor to your preferences.

The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • 1 tablespoon of chili powder (ensure it’s gluten-free as some chili powders aren’t)
  • 1 teaspoon of ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon of paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of fine sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes

The recipe couldn’t possibly be easier! All you need to do is place all of the ingredients into a small jar (with a lid). Shake vigorously until the ingredients are combined. Your taco seasoning is ready! And you can store the seasoning for up to a year.

Add spices, remove spices – personalize the seasoning to make it your own. If you like your taco seasoning spicy, add some more chili powder. Go wild!

Learn more about: Is McCormick Chili Powder Gluten-Free?

Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Brands

It’s easy to find taco seasoning that does not contain any gluten, but that is very different from a product being “gluten-free”. When a product has a clear gluten-free label, it means that it has been through testing for traces of gluten. Products that do not contain gluten ingredients may have come into contact with gluten due to processes such as storage and preparation. This is why it’s always best to opt for products carrying a gluten-free label, when possible.

McCormick

The standard McCormick taco seasoning has no gluten ingredients but does not carry a gluten-free label. However, they offer a certified gluten-free taco seasoning mix, which is as safe as can possibly be. It’s around $2 per packet, and it’s incredibly tasty.

The ingredients you’ll find in this mix are:

  • spices (chili pepper, paprika, oregano, cumin)
  • onion
  • whey
  • salt
  • garlic
  • sugar
  • potato starch
  • red pepper
  • citric acid

Be sure you’re buying the gluten-free version when you make your purchase, as the packets do look very similar.

Siete

Siete is slightly more expensive at $2.99 per packet, however, it comes in two different flavors: mild or spicy. And isn’t just gluten-free, but also paleo-friendly, dairy-free, vegan, and non-GMO; meaning it’s suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.

Their mild seasoning contains the following ingredients:

  • chili powder
  • sea salt
  • ground dates
  • tomato powder
  • garlic powder
  • nutritional yeast
  • cumin
  • onion flakes
  • cassava flour
  • cream of tartar
  • black pepper
  • parsley

Pioneer

Pioneer is another brand that offers certified gluten-free taco seasoning, which you can find in grocery stores such as Walmart, for around $1.50. This is a great choice to go opt for if you’re on a budget – we all know gluten-free food can be expensive!

There are very few ingredients in this seasoning. The ingredients include:

  • spices
  • yellow corn
  • salt
  • dextrose
  • onion
  • natural flavor
  • lime gum
  • maltodextrin

Old El Paso

There are no gluten ingredients in the Old El Paso taco seasoning and no gluten allergens listed. However, it does not carry a gluten-free label, so it’s best to approach this one with caution. As it’s one of the leading Mexican food brands, it is worth including in our overview. The Gluten-Free Bar gives it 6/10, in terms of GF safety.

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped you to become more familiar with gluten-free taco seasoning brands, and how to make your own seasonings at home. Do you have your own recipe you’d like to share? Or know of any other gluten-free brands? Please feel free to let me know in the comments.

FAQs

Is McCormick Taco Seasoning Packet Gluten-Free?

The standard McCormick Taco Seasoning does not contain any gluten ingredients. However, some of the ingredients are at a high risk of cross contact. This means that non-gluten products may have come into contact with gluten ingredients when being made. So although there are no gluten ingredients, if you're celiac or a sensitive gluten intolerant, it may be best to avoid. But the good news is, McCormick have a certified gluten free version of their infamous taco seasoning, which we'll be looking at in more detail later.

What Can I Use if I Don't Have Taco Seasoning?

If you don't have taco seasoning at home, there's a few options you may already have in your pantry that you could use as a substitute. The most common substitute is chili powder. Chili powder is often a mix of various spices including cumin, garlic and onion powder. It's super rich in flavor, so works well on it's own. Other popular substitutes include sriracha hot sauce, fajita seasoning and chili-cumin combo. Some of these alternatives may contain gluten, so be sure to choose the gluten free versions.

What's the Difference Between Chili Powder and Taco Seasoning?

There's no doubt about it, the two are very similar. But what are the differences between the two? The main difference is that chili powder has a much higher concentration of chili, meaning the heat is more intense. Taco seasoning has heat, but it also has larger quantities of cumin, making it slightly less intense. I find taco seasoning to be far more tasty than chili powder.