Gluten-Free Gnocchi Brands: Top Picks

Last Updated on February 25, 2023

Today, we’re going to be looking at the top gluten-free gnocchi brands. It’s an Italian dish that has become a favorite in the Western world, but can it be eaten when following a gluten-free diet? First, let’s take a look at the ingredients, and then we can determine whether it’s safe for us to consume.

What Is Gnocchi?

You’ll probably already be familiar with gnocchi, particularly if you like Italian food. Gnocchi is a type of dumpling, that originates in Italy. They are small balls of dough filled with potato and other flavorings. You often eat gnocchi with a sauce or dressing, or sometimes just something like oil or butter. They have a mash-potato-like texture inside, which makes for quite an acquired taste, as some people don’t like its soft inside.

Ingredients In Gnocchi

Depending on where you purchase your gnocchi, the ingredients will vary from brand to brand, but the most common ingredients across all varieties of gnocchi are:

  • Flour
  • Potatoes
  • Egg
  • Cheese
  • Herbs and Vegetables (of your choosing)

Ingredients In Gnocchi

Learn more about: Barilla Gluten Free Lasagna Noodles

There is a range of different gnocchi that you can try. Some of the varieties include:

  • Malfatti (flour, spinach and ricotta)
  • Malloreddus (semolina flour and saffron)
  • Gnudi (flour and ricotta)
  • Cavatelli (semolina flour)
  • Strangolapreti (breadcrumbs and spinach)

Gluten-Free Gnocchi Brands

We’ve taken a look at Trader Joe’s and some of the supermarkets in the UK, but let’s take a closer look at some of these brands, and also some US brands that offer gluten-free gnocchi.

La Gnoccheria

La Gnoccheria is a company that makes gluten-free gnocchi. It’s not just gluten-free, but also free from eggs and milk; plus it’s suitable for vegans. This gnocchi costs just £1.67 from the supermarket, ASDA. You can find this gnocchi here.

The ingredients in their gnocchi are:

  • Rehydrated Potatoes
  • Corn Flour
  • Potato Starch
  • Corn Starch
  • Rice Flour
  • Salt
  • Lactic Acid
  • Sorbic Acid
  • Turmeric

Caesar’s Kitchen

Caesar’s Kitchen is a certified gluten-free that’s home to a range of gluten-free products, which you can find in stores such as Walmart. You can add oil, balsamic vinegar, or a tomato-y sauce, and your gluten-free meal will be ready. When a brand is certified gluten-free, its products are as safe as they can possibly be. Each product is tested for gluten and meets strict guidelines set by the FDA to receive its gluten-free status.

The ingredients in this particular gnocchi are:

  • water
  • potato flakes
  • rice flour
  • cornflour
  • corn starch
  • tapioca starch
  • potato starch
  • xanthan gum
  • olive oil


Schar is a staple brand on a gluten-free diet. From bread to cakes, from pasta to rolls – they have it all. And of course, they have their own gluten-free gnocchi. If you’re unfamiliar with Schar, I would definitely be recommending taking a look at their extensive range of gluten-free products.


Difatti is one of my go-to brands for gnocchi, as they have such a wide variety of flavors. That’s right – not just plain potato gnocchi! Difatti offers the following flavors:

  • Original Gnocchi
  • Pumpkin and Quinoa Gnocchi
  • Spinach Gnocchi
  • Tomato Gnocchi

Their gnocchi is free from any allergens and also suitable for a vegan lifestyle.


I hope this article has helped you to become familiar with gluten-free gnocchi brands, and how easy it is to find gluten-free gnocchi, wherever you are in the world. You can also try making your own gluten-free gnocchi – it doesn’t come safer than when it’s made from scratch from the comfort of your kitchen!

Do you know of any other gluten-free gnocchi brands? Or have a recipe you’d like to share? Please let me know in the comments below.

Read more about: Do Meatballs Have Gluten?


Is There a Gluten Free Gnocchi?

As the main ingredient in gnocchi is potato, you may think that gnocchi is gluten free. This is definitely not the case. More often than not, wheat or semolina flour is added to gnocchi, meaning that it is no longer suitable for a gluten free lifestyle. Flour works perfectly as a binder for the gnocchi, so it is a key ingredient. However, it's relatively easy to find gluten free gnocchi, and it should be easily accessible in your local grocery stores. The warning signs to look out for on ingredients labels are: wheat, rye, barley, spelt and oats (unless gluten free oats). 

Is Potato Gnocchi Gluten Free?

In short: sometimes. More often than not, potato gnocchi will contain wheat or semolina flour. But in more recent years, I've been able to find gluten free gnocchi in the "normal" aisles of supermarkets I've been to. if you're searching for potato gnocchi, it's always best to opt for products carrying a gluten free label, as these products are as safe as possible for us. 

Is Tesco Gnocchi Gluten Free?

Tesco is a popular supermarket in the UK, and although their gluten free products are extensive, they currently do not offer any gluten free gnocchi. They have several types of gnocchi available, but all of them contain wheat flour; meaning they're unsuitable for gluten free lifestyle. 

Is Asda Gnocchi Gluten Free?

Asda is another popular supermarket in the UK, and one that I shop in regularly. When I'm craving gnocchi, Asda is my go-to store as they often have several gluten free gnocchi brands available. They usually stock the La Gnoccheria Gluten Free Potato Gnocchi, Whole Creations Cauliflower Gnocchi and their own brand of ASDA Gnocchi. It's worth noting that their own brand does not carry a gluten free label; it just has no gluten containing products. The prices are very reasonable and range from £1.35-£3.00.

Is Trader Joe’s Cauliflower Gnocchi Gluten Free?

Good news - the Trader Joe's Cauliflower Gnocchi is gluten free! But not just gluten free, it's also sugar free, dairy free and egg free. The only ingredients in this particular gnocchi are: cauliflower, cassava flour, potato starch, extra virgin olive oil and sea salt. At $2.99 for a 12oz bag of this gnocchi, you can't really go wrong. Not only that, but it receives rave reviews among the gluten free community.