Gluten Free Enchilada Sauce Brands

Last Updated on September 7, 2021

Today, we’re going to be looking at gluten-free enchilada sauce brands. With enchiladas not being gluten-free themselves, it may seem like the sauce is off limits too – but that certainly isn’t the case. Not only are there gluten-free enchiladas sauces available; but even gluten-free enchiladas too! Let’s take a closer look.

What is Enchilada Sauce?

Enchilada sauce is chili-based and from Mexico. Its consistency is smooth and spreadable, and of course, its main use is in enchiladas. Enchilada sauce comes in two different varieties: red and green. Red is spicy and the “classic” flavor, whereas green provides a much sweeter taste. They aren’t just used for enchiladas either, the sauce goes well in lots of Mexican dishes – it’s versatile and absolutely delicious.

What is Enchilada Sauce Made From?

The main ingredients are either red or green chilis. The seasoning usually contains chili powder, garlic, cumin, and a range of other herbs and spices.

Is Enchilada Sauce Gluten-Free?

Enchilada sauce may not always be gluten-free and that is important to remember. Sauces often use thickening agents such as wheat to fill out their products, so whilst some brands offer gluten-free options – that is not always the case. So the answer to this question really depends on which brand you’re buying. But don’t worry, we’ll be taking a look at gluten-free brands soon!

Is Old El Paso Enchilada Sauce Gluten Free?

Good news – Old El Paso Enchilada sauce is gluten-free. Both red and green variants. It doesn’t come with a gluten-free label on the packaging, but there are no gluten-containing products in either jar. The ingredients include:

“water, tomato puree, corn starch, sugar, salt, chili pepper, soybean oil, vinegar, hydrolyzed corn protein, citric acid, onion powder, red pepper”

All of which are gluten-free. However, it isn’t prepared in a dedicated gluten-free facility, so there is always a chance of cross-contact, as there is no guarantee that this hasn’t occurred. If you’re extremely sensitive – approach with caution. You can read more about its suitability for gluten intolerant individuals here.

It’s also worth noting that this article is only discussing the sauce which is gluten-free, the Old El Paso enchilada kits you may see in your local grocery store are not gluten-free. They do offer a gluten-free kit, but that is not the standard variant they offer. So be sure to avoid the standard kits, as they do contain wheat.

Gluten-Free Enchilada Sauce

There’s a huge selection of enchilada sauces available when following our lifestyle. Let’s have a round-up of the best options on offer.

1. Market Pantry Red and Green Enchilada Sauce

I thought I’d start with the cheapest option on offer. It’s the Target brand sauce – and surprisingly, it’s gluten-free! It’s under a dollar and comes in two different styles – jars and cans. While it may not be the tastiest enchilada sauce out there, it’s perfect if you’re on a budget. It comes in both varieties. The ingredients include:

“water, tomato paste, corn starch, red/green chile, soybean oil, sugar, salt, monosodium, corn protein, citric acid, spices, onion and garlic powder, yeast”.

2. La Victoria 

La Victoria is a great gluten-free brand. They have a whopping four different flavors, in a variety of heat strengths – all for around $2 a can. It isn’t certified gluten-free, but it is marketed as gluten-free. This is one of the safest options we’ll be looking at today. The ingredients in this brand are much more natural. They include:

water, chiles, chile pods, vinegar, salt, food starch, soybean oil, spices, garlic powder, calcium chloride and fumaric acid.”

3. Simply Organic

Simply Organic offers a certified organic and gluten-free sauce. It’s definitely the most expensive option and may not be available in your local grocery store – but if you’re wanting to be completely at ease, this is a great option. The main ingredients are organic cornstarch and organic chili pepper. It cost around $10 for a pack of 3 sachets. This enchilada sauce is a mix that you make yourself – which means it’s probably tastier and fresher than jar sauces.


The enchilada sauce that Rosarita offers is an amazing one to buy when following a gluten-free lifestyle. It’s easily accessible in local grocery stores, a well-known (and loved) brand and only costs around $1.50 per can. This one is suitable for a range of diets, including:

  • gluten-free
  • no additives
  • no preservatives
  • msg free
  • paleo
  • vegan

and so many more! It really is perfect for almost everyone. The main ingredients of this enchilada sauce are tomato puree, water and red chile puree. The other ingredients only make up 2% of the final product.

Popular brands like Hatch and Las Palmas have some enchilada sauces that do contain gluten, so I think it’s best to avoid those ones if you can. It’s always better to be safe than sorry – I’ve learnt that the hard way!

You may also like to try having a go at making your own. It doesn’t need too many ingredients and most of which you would already have in your pantry already. There are many gluten-free recipes online to try – I would love to know if you do try any.


Luckily for us, there are lots of well-known gluten enchilada sauce brands, that are gluten-free naturally and safe for consumption. Even luckier, the much-loved Old El Paso enchilada sauces are perfectly fine for us!

However, products are susceptible to changing ingredients at any time, so make sure you’re regularly checking your labels – even if it’s something you’ve been purchasing for a while.

Are there any that didn’t make the list that you think are worth mentioning? Or do you have your own recipe that you’d like to share? If so, please feel free to let us know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Is French’s Worcestershire Sauce Gluten-Free?

Leave a Comment