Last Updated on November 28, 2021
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does Velveeta have gluten? If you’re from the US, you’ll probably be familiar with this creamy, cheesy household favorite. But what are the ingredients? Is it safe to consume when following a gluten-free diet? Let’s take a look!
What Is Velveeta?
If you’re one of the few people unfamiliar with Velveeta, it’s an iconic American brand. Velveeta is a processed cheese that’s made by Kraft Foods. It’s extremely smooth in texture and consistency, meaning it’s the perfect consistency to melt. Whether you’re using it as a dip, adding it to your favorite mac and cheese, or even as a delicious sandwich filling – it works with almost anything!
Ingredients In Velveeta
According to their website, Velveeta cheese has the following ingredients:
“Skim milk, milk, canola oil, milk protein concentrate, sodium phosphate, contains less than 2% of modified food starch, whey protein concentrate, maltodextrin, whey, salt, calcium phosphate, lactic acid, sorbic acid as a preservative, milkfat, sodium alginate, sodium citrate, enzymes, apocarotenal and annatto (color), cheese culture, vitamin A palmitate”
Velveeta is seen as quite an unhealthy cheese choice, as it’s processed and very unnatural. However, it is absolutely delicious and makes just about anything taste even better!
Is Velveeta Gluten-Free?
If you’re a fan of Velveeta – I have some good news for you! According to The Gluten Free Bar, Velveeta is gluten-free! As you can see from the ingredients above, there are no gluten-containing ingredients in Velveeta. Velveeta is made by Kraft, which is usually a very reliable brand for disclosing any and all allergens on their food labels. The gluten-free and celiac community are in agreement that Velveeta can be consumed safely on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cheese Gluten-Free?
Cheese is a food that is considered safe to consume on a gluten-free diet. There are very few cheeses that contain any gluten ingredients. However, it is always best to check any labels when purchasing something new, or even a product you’re familiar with. This is because ingredients and manufacturing methods are subject to change at any time.
Processed cheeses and cheeses that aren’t natural such as low fat or low salt are more likely to contain gluten, so be extra vigilant if you’re purchasing one of those cheeses.
Is Velveeta Certified Gluten-Free?
To answer this question simply, no. Velveeta does not carry a certification label. When a product is certified gluten-free, this means that the product has gone through vigorous testing and has met strict guidelines set by the FDA to ensure there is no gluten in the end product.
Velveeta does not carry this label; however, we can safely assume it can be eaten by gluten-free individuals. Some individuals prefer to avoid foods that do not carry this certification and that is certainly the safest option. There is not a chance of any cross-contact this way, and the product will be as safe as possible for celiacs and gluten intolerant individuals.
Is Velveeta Dairy Free?
Many gluten-free individuals suffer from other intolerances within their diet too. Dairy is often the most common intolerance. If you’re looking for a dairy-free cheese, Velveeta is not the choice to go with. Milk and milk sources are ingredients in all of their products. But there are plenty of other dairy-free cheeses available now, so you certainly do not have to go without them.
Velveeta Cheese Gluten-Free Products
It’s important to note that not all Velveeta products are gluten-free. Several of their products do contain gluten such as their cheesy bowls, and shells & cheese. Be sure to check the ingredients label if you’re unsure about the gluten-free safety of any product.
However, there are many Velveeta products that you can still enjoy on a gluten-free diet. These products include:
- Original Cheese Sauce Pouch
- Jalapeno Cheese Sauce Pouch
- Jalapeno Cheese (Slices)
- Queso Blanco (Slices)
- Sharp Cheddar Cheese (Slices)
- 3 Cheese with Cheddar, Colby, and Asiago (Slices)
- Original Cheese (Slices)
- Original Shredded Cheese (Shreds)
- Cheddar Shredded Cheese (Shreds)
- Mozzarella Shredded Cheese (Shreds)
- Mexican Style Shredded Cheese (Shreds)
- Queso Blanco Cheese Block
- Jalapeno Cheese Block
- Reduced-Fat (by 25%) Cheese Block (with 2% Milk)
- Original Cheese Block
- Sharp Cheddar Cheese Block
- Fresh Packs Original
It’s important to note, that if a product looks like a “meal” instead of a cheese, it will contain gluten and therefore should be avoided.
Velveeta Gluten-Free Mac and Cheese Recipe
The cheese may be gluten-free, but the shells aren’t. So you may want to make your own gluten-free mac and cheese, using Velveeta. And it really couldn’t be easier! Mama Gourmand has a brilliant Creamy Mac and Cheese recipe, which I highly recommend. With 15 minutes of prep time, and 25 minutes of cooking time – you’ll have a delicious meal in just 40 minutes!
The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:
- Gluten-Free Elbow Macaroni
- Unsalted Butter
- Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour
- Shredded Cheddar Cheese (optional)
Many of these ingredients you’ll already have in your pantry, so it doesn’t require much effort at all!
Read more about: Does Macaroni and Cheese Have Gluten?
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does Velveeta have gluten? The good news is – most Velveeta products do not, and we can enjoy them just like everyone else! Velveeta has been around for over 100 years, and it doesn’t look like they’ll be going anywhere, anytime soon!
Always be sure that you’re checking ingredients labels as products that are not certified gluten-free can change at any given time. I have been caught out several times by products changing ingredients and being too lax with my label checking!
Do you still enjoy Velveeta cheese on a gluten-free diet? Do you have any gluten-free recipes using Velveeta cheese? If so, please feel free to leave any answers or recipes in the comments below. I love reading through them!