Does Spaghetti Sauce Have Gluten? – Top GF Brands

Last Updated on January 18, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question, does spaghetti sauce have gluten? And looking at the top gluten-free brands on offer when following a gluten-free style. Do you know the ingredients in spaghetti sauce and its gluten-free status? Let’s take a look.

Most of us enjoy some form of pasta every now and then. And finding gluten-free pasta that has the right texture and doesn’t stick together is already challenging enough, without having to worry about the sauce too! But when purchasing a jarred sauce, you must always check that the sauce is gluten-free – as there’s a chance it may not be. We’ll be taking a look at why that might be, later in this article.

Ingredients In Spaghetti Sauce

There are a few key ingredients when making sauce for spaghetti, and the herbs and spices are usually down to whoever is making the sauce itself. The key ingredients are:

  • Canned Tomatoes
  • Carrots
  • Onion
  • Garlic

And then herbs and spices you may find in spaghetti sauce are:

  • Basil
  • Parsley
  • Oregano
  • Chili Flakes
  • Black Pepper
  • Paprika

but you can add almost anything to spaghetti sauce if you’re making your own.

Is Spaghetti Sauce Gluten-Free?

Looking at the ingredients, you’ll notice that most of the ingredients are natural and should be gluten-free. And you’re right! If you’re making your own spaghetti sauce, it’s super easy to keep gluten-free. However, when buying a jar of spaghetti sauce from the grocery store, this may not always be the case.

When buying any sauce, there’s a chance it may contain gluten. This is for a variety of reasons. When making sauce, additives such as thickeners, stabilizers, flavorings, and preservatives are used. There’s a possibility that any of those could contain gluten, so it’s always best to opt for brands that carry a gluten-free label.

Another possibility is cross-contact. This is when the product itself does not contain any gluten ingredients, but due to the manufacturing, preparation, and storage methods, the final product may contain traces of gluten. If your sensitivity/intolerance is mild, you may be okay with this – but celiacs and sensitive gluten intolerants should avoid at all costs.

Learn more about Are Knorr Rice Sides Gluten Free?

Is Tomato Sauce Gluten-Free?

When referring to tomato sauce, this can cover a range of sauces. Spaghetti sauce, a dip for chips, ketchup. Ketchup is called tomato sauce in the UK and most of the time is gluten-free. One of the most famous ketchup brands is Heinz and lucky for us, it’s gluten-free! Other gluten-free ketchup brands you may want to look out for are:

  • Annie’s Naturals
  • Organicville
  • Walden Farms

Almost all ketchup will include some form of vinegar. If the vinegar has been derived from barley or contains the word malt – it’s always best to avoid it, as it likely contains gluten. Be sure to check any labels before purchasing. Heinz is always my go-to for ketchup!

Gluten-Free Spaghetti Sauce

From making your own to buying sauce at the store – there’s a range of gluten-free options you may like to choose. We’ll take a look at both!

Gluten-Free Spaghetti Sauce Brands

There’s a selection of gluten-free sauce brands – here are some of our favorites.


Prego is one of the best choices for spaghetti sauce as their selection of gluten-free sauces is so vast! On their FAQs, they state that their gluten-free products undergo rigorous testing before being certified gluten-free. They test each ingredient – and the final product. This means that it’s as safe as can possibly be.

There’s a staggering 30 flavors to choose from, including:

  • Traditional Italian Sauce
  • Creamy Vodka Sauce
  • Tomato Basil Garlic Italian Sauce
  • Marinara Italian Sauce
  • Garlic and Herb Italian Sauce
  • Italian Sausage and Garlic Meat Sauce
  • Three Cheese Italian Sauce
  • Mushroom and Green Pepper Sauce
  • Pizza Sauce Pizzeria Style Sauce
  • Hidden Super Veggies Traditional

You can find the full range of (30!) sauces here.


Classico sells jarred sauces and they are all gluten-free! They aren’t certified, but there’s very little concern of cross-contact as they do not make any products that contain gluten ingredients. You’ll find Classico in most local grocery stores at a reasonable price. The gluten-free flavors include:

  • Caramelized Onion and Roasted Garlic Sauce
  • Fire Roasted Tomato and Garlic Sauce
  • Marinara Pasta Sauce with Plum Tomatoes
  • Florentine Spinach and Cheese Pasta Sauce
  • Meat Smooth and Rich Sauce
  • Parmesan & Romano Smooth and Rice Pasta Sauce
  • Traditional Smooth and Rich Sauce

Gluten-Free Spaghetti Sauce Recipe

If you’re looking to make your own spaghetti sauce, you can follow a recipe loosely if you’re wanting to add a personal touch, or strictly to make the same in the recipe – it’s entirely up to you! I like the Easy Homemade Spaghetti Sauce from The Mediterranean Dish. Most of the ingredients you’ll have in your pantry or fridge and it’s super easy. The ingredients you’ll need are:

  • Olive Oil
  • Yellow Onion
  • Garlic Cloves
  • Carrots
  • Canned Tomatoes
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Black Pepper
  • Oregano
  • Parsley
  • Basil
  • Spanish Paprika
  • Red Pepper Flakes (optional)

It takes around 30 minutes – and then is ready to serve with the pasta of your choice.


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does spaghetti sauce have gluten? And helped you to become more familiar with the selection of gluten-free spaghetti sauce brands we can choose from. There are plenty of other options available, just be sure to check the ingredients label. If you’re still newly diagnosed, don’t worry – you’ll get into the habit of checking before you eat anything in no time!

Did your favorite spaghetti sauce make the list? Do you have your own spaghetti sauce recipe you’re itching to share? If you have any comments to add, or any suggestions, please let me know in the comments below. You’ll likely be helping out a fellow gluten-free individual. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Barilla Gluten Free Lasagna Noodles