Does Heinz Ketchup Have Gluten?

Last Updated on September 5, 2021

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does Heinz Ketchup have gluten? It’s probably the most popular condiment across the globe – with Heinz being the leading brand. But is it safe for consumption when following a gluten-free lifestyle? Let’s take a closer look. And have a look at other safe ketchup brands too.

It doesn’t seem like ketchup should be anything but gluten-free. But gluten can wiggle it’s way into just about anything.

What Is Ketchup Made From?

It’s a tangy, sweet condiment that seems to go well with almost anything. But what goes into making it? The main ingredient in tomato ketchup, is unsurprisingly, tomatoes. Vinegar and sugar are also key ingredients to ketchup, alongside spices and seasonings. These can differ from brand to brand, but can include:

  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Mustard
  • Cumin
  • Ginger

Is Ketchup Gluten-Free?

Naturally, ketchup should be a gluten-free product. Usually, it should not contain any gluten-containing grains ( such as barley, rye, wheat, etc.).  However, depending on the manufacturing methods of the ketchup – it may be unsafe; as it may have come into contact with gluten-containing foods. So always opt for ketchup with a gluten-free label, if possible. This may not always be an option – but don’t worry, the list below is quite an extensive one!

Also, you may notice that vinegar is a common ingredient in ketchup. If malt vinegar is used, it contains barley – which is unsafe when following a gluten-free diet. Distilled vinegar can also be derived from wheat, which is also a no-go for gluten intolerant individuals. However, most ketchups are below the amount of gluten considered safe, which is 20ppm.

Is Heinz Ketchup Gluten-Free?

Heinz is the most popular brand of ketchup globally – and good news! It’s completely gluten-free. The ingredients in Heinz Ketchup are as follows:

“Tomatoes, spirit vinegar, cane sugar, salt, onion powder, spice, natural flavoring”

All-natural ingredients that are safe for us to eat! Heinz also contains no artificial flavors, thickeners, or preservatives – and is also suitable for vegans and vegetarians. It comes in a range of sizes – all of which are gluten-free. Heinz have also confirmed that their vinegar is derived from corn, not wheat; so there really is zero gluten in there!

There’s also a range of types to buy, from organic to low sugar. There’s even a ketchup with blended veggies (which is also completely gluten-free)! You can see the whole range Heinz has to offer here.

Gluten-Free Ketchup Brands

Heinz is not the only gluten-free brand that your local grocery store has to offer. Let’s take a look at some other supermarket favorites.

Annie’s Organic Ketchup

Annie’s is organic, vegan, non-GMI, and of course, gluten-free. The only ingredients in Annie’s are, “tomato paste, water, sugar, vinegar, sea salt, onion, spice, clove“. At $5 a bottle, it’s an expensive option – but it is organic!

Annie’s have a range of gluten-free products which contain less than 20ppm of gluten. Their gluten-free products are not made on the same equipment as gluten-containing foods and their vinegar is not derived from barley or wheat. It’s actually derived from beets or corn!

Hunt’s Ketchup 

Hunt’s is another popular brand of ketchup. The company does not claim that their product is gluten-free. However, they do state that their ketchup, “does not contain added gluten”. They also do not state where their vinegar comes from. Let’s take a look at the ingredients. They are, “tomato, cane sugar, vinegar, salt, onion powder, natural flavors“.

As you can see, there are no gluten-containing products and their policy states that if gluten was an ingredient, it would clearly be shown on the product’s label. Hunt’s is around $2.50 a bottle, which makes it a far more affordable option.

French’s Tomato Ketchup

French’s do a range of gluten-free products – ketchup being one of them. The ingredients include, “tomatoes, sugar, vinegar, salt, onion powder, spices, and natural flavor“. It’s gluten-free, kosher certified, and non-GMO too! There’s also no artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives.

The company confirms this product is safe under 20ppm of gluten, and if that changes, the labelling will reflect that.

It’s usually around $3 a bottle in your local grocery store.

Sir Kensington’s Ketchup

Sir Kensington’s is probably the healthiest of the bunch we’re looking at today. And one of the few brands that proudly wears a gluten-free label. The ingredients in this ketchup are, “tomatoes, tomato paste, organic cane sugar, water, onions, vinegar, salt, lime juice, green peppers, and allspice“.

The brand states that not just their ketchup, but all of their condiments are gluten-free, kosher, paleo-friendly, soy-free, and non-GMO. They also contain less sugar and less salt than the average ketchup.

It’s available in most grocery stores for around $4 a bottle.

Other Brands

Whilst they may not have their own section, some other brands you may want to consider that are gluten-free are Organicville and Walden Farms. Both of which are considered safe when following a gluten-free lifestyle.


I hope this article has helped to put your mind at ease when shopping for ketchup. Luckily for us, the most popular ketchup brand, Heinz, is gluten-free!

Condiments can be a tricky food to navigate when becoming gluten-free – but ketchup is one of the easiest. However, it’s important to remember that products are susceptible to change at any time. So always check the label before purchasing – as I’ve been caught out before by becoming too complacent.

Value brands are great for keeping the price of your shopping down but are more likely to use gluten-containing thickeners and vinegars. So if you’re buying a brand that isn’t featured on this list, be sure to check.

Are there any other ketchup brands I’ve managed to miss off from this list? If so, please feel free to leave them in the comments below. The more options we have, the better!

Read more about: Are Lay’s Potato Chips Gluten-Free?

Leave a Comment