Last Updated on November 29, 2021
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does gnocchi have gluten? It’s a popular Italian favorite, that makes for a delicious meal. But can it safely be eaten on a gluten-free diet? We’ll be covering it all in this post.
What Is Gnocchi?
If you’re unfamiliar with gnocchi, it’s a type of dumpling from Italy. They are usually small balls of dough with potato and other flavorings. Gnocchi has a soft texture, that almost has a mash potato-like filling. It often melts in your mouth. And is great paired with a sauce or dressing.
Gnocchi Ingredients List
The ingredients in gnocchi vary depending on what type of gnocchi you have, but the most common ingredients include:
There are a few variations of gnocchi, with slightly different ingredients, including:
- Malfatti (flour, spinach and ricotta)
- Malloreddus (semolina flour and saffron – originates in Sardinia)
- Gnudi (flour and ricotta)
- Cavatelli (semolina flour)
- Strangolapreti (breadcrumbs and spinach)
Herbs and vegetables may be added, depending on how you like your gnocchi.
Is Gnocchi Gluten-Free?
According to The Gluten Free Bar, in short – the answer is no! With potatoes being the primary ingredient in gnocchi, you may think that this product is gluten-free. However, as flour is used as a binder, gnocchi is not gluten-free. Therefore, unsafe to consume on a gluten-free diet. Wheat flour is the most common and as you’re probably aware, wheat is a no-go! Along with wheat, other grains such as rye, barley, and oats are also not suitable. All cereal grains are unsafe for a gluten intolerant or celiac.
Learn more about: Do Mashed Potatoes Have Gluten?
However, if you’re a gnocchi lover (like me), all hope is not lost. There are plenty of gluten-free options on the market. They’re even starting to make some gnocchi with GF flour on the regular shelves of the grocery stores. This makes life so much easier for us! Be sure to check any ingredients labels before purchasing. And always opt for brands that have a clear “gluten-free” label on display, as these are the safest options for us.
If you’re looking for some recommendations for gluten-free gnocchi, look no further! There are a plethora of options available, and you really can’t taste the difference between GF gnocchi and traditional wheat flour gnocchi. Here are some brands you may want to consider.
These Italian-style dumplings are certified gluten-free and are available in stores such as Walmart. Dress them with balsamic vinegar, oil, or a tomato-based sauce, and you’ll have a tasty meal. When a product is certified gluten-free, it means that it’s gone through vigorous testing and met strict guidelines set by the FDA to ensure that the end product is free from any gluten. These products are as safe as they possibly can be.
The ingredients in this particular gnocchi are:
“Water, Potato Flakes, Rice Flour, Corn Flour, Corn Starch, Tapioca Starch, Potato Starch, Xanthan Gum, Olive Oil”
They’re also home to a range of other gluten-free products, so it’s definitely worth taking a look at Caesar’s Kitchen.
If you’ve been gluten-free for a while, you’ll probably already be familiar with Schar. They’re a worldwide gluten-free brand and home to some incredible products. I personally couldn’t live without Schar! Their Gnocchi di Patate (Frozen) is completely gluten-free. And not just gluten-free – wheat-free, lactose-free, no eggs, no soy, and vegan. This means it’s suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.
The ingredients in the Schar gnocchi are:
“Potatoes, Water, Potato Starch, Maize Flour, Potato Flakes, Maize Starch, Vegetable Fiber, Rice Flour, Salt”
Difatti is a great gluten-free option because they have a range of different flavors. That’s right – there’s not just plain gnocchi here, they have some really exciting flavors. Their flavor selection includes:
- Plain Gnocchi
- Pumpkin and Quinoa Gnocchi
- Tomato Gnocchi
- Spinach Gnocchi
They also have selection boxes, which are perfect for trying an assortment of flavors and other Italian products such as gluten-free pasta that they supply.
The ingredients in their plain gnocchi are:
“Rehydrated Potatoes, Potato Starch, Corn Flour, Corn Starch, Salt, Rice Flour, Lactic Acid, Sorbic Acid, Turmeric”
Their gnocchi is completely allergen-free and vegan.
Gluten-Free Gnocchi Recipe
If you’re looking to make your own soft pillowy dumpling, you certainly won’t regret it. Homemade gnocchi is incredible and definitely worth the effort it requires. Gluten-Free on a Shoestring has an amazing Gluten-Free Potato Gnocchi recipe, which takes just over 30 minutes to make.
For these tender Italian dumplings, you’ll need:
- Russet Potatoes
- Unsalted Butter
- All-Purpose Gluten-Free Flour
- Xanthan Gum
- Sauce and Cheese (optional)
Some people prefer to make their own as they feel it’s the safest option, and if that’s you – that’s completely understandable. And there are so many amazing gluten-free gnocchi recipes available.
I hope this article has helped you to become more familiar with some gluten-free gnocchi brands and answered the question of whether gnocchi contains gluten. The list above is by no means extensive and is just a small section of what the gluten-free market has to offer. You’ll likely find several gluten-free gnocchi at your local grocery stores and often they may not even be in the gluten-free section – so be sure to shop around! You never know what you may find.
Do you have any gluten-free gnocchi brands that you think are worthy of a place on the list? Or do you have your own gluten-free gnocchi recipe that you’re itching to share with the gluten-free community? If so, please feel free to leave any answers or suggestions in the comments below. I love reading through them all, and you may be helping a fellow intolerant discover their new favorite gnocchi.
On that note, I’m off to make some gnocchi for lunch. The best part is, it’s ready to eat in just a few minutes!
Read more about: Barilla Gluten Free Lasagna Noodles