Does Dr Pepper Have Gluten? (& GF Soda List)

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does Dr. Pepper have gluten? And taking a look at which popular sodas are safe to consume when following a gluten free diet. When I first received my diagnosis, it didn’t cross my mind that some drinks may contain gluten, especially soda. But unfortunately, they absolutely can! But does Dr. Pepper have gluten? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Dr Pepper?

You’ll likely already know what Dr. Pepper is, but if you’re unsure, it’s a popular soft drink that comes in a range of flavors. It’s been around for well over 100 years and it doesn’t look as though it’s going anywhere, anytime soon. Dr. Pepper definitely has an acquired taste. It’s a bold flavor, that tastes almost warm and spicy. It’s known for having 23 secret fruit flavors. However, people describe it as tasting like a mixture of coke and root beer.

Ingredients In Dr Pepper

The ingredients in Dr. Pepper may vary slightly depending on which variety you buy. However, the original Dr. Pepper contains the following ingredients:

  • carbonated water
  • sugar
  • color
  • phosphoric acid
  • preservative
  • flavorings including caffeine
  • sweeteners

Nutritional Information Of Dr Pepper

You may be wondering what the nutritional value is when it comes to Dr. Pepper. Each 100ml of Dr. Pepper contains the following:

  • Calories: 20
  • Carbs: 4.9g
  • Sugars: 4.9g
  • Fat: 0g
  • Sodium: 0mg
  • Protein: 0g

Does Dr Pepper Have Gluten?

If you’re a fan of Dr. Pepper, we have some good news for you! Dr. Pepper does not contain any gluten ingredients. Dr. Pepper also claims that all of their drinks are below the legally safe amount of gluten, which is 20ppm. Because of this, Dr. Pepper can safely be consumed when following a gluten-free diet.

Why Would Soda Contain Gluten?

Most well-known brands are gluten-free and do not contain any gluten ingredients. However, I’ve discovered that the cheaper the soda, the more likely it is to contain gluten. For example, the value brand lemonade and cola in my local store both contain barley as an ingredient. Early on in my diagnosis, I was caught out by this a few times. If you stick to well-known brands, it’s highly unlikely that they will contain gluten.

Read more about: Is There Gluten In Soda?

Gluten Free Soda List

If you’re wondering which sodas are considered gluten-free, look no further. Here’s a list of some of the most common sodas, which are safe to drink.

Dr Pepper

  • Dr. Pepper 10
  • Caffeine Free Dr. Pepper
  • Diet Dr. Pepper Cherry
  • Dr. Pepper Cherry Vanilla
  • Diet Dr. Pepper Cherry Vanilla
  • Diet Caffeine Free Dr. Pepper
  • Diet Dr. Pepper

Coca Cola

  • Caffeine Free Coca-Cola
  • Diet Coke
  • Caffeine Free Diet Coke
  • Cherry Coke
  • Diet Cherry Coke
  • Coca Cola Zero
  • Cherry Coke Zero

Pepsi

  • Zero Sugar Pepsi Cherry
  • Pepsi Caffeine Free
  • Diet Pepsi Caffeine Free

Sprite

  • Cherry Sprite
  • Tropical Sprite

Mountain Dew

  • Mountain Dew Kickstart
  • Major Melon
  • Major Melon Zero Sugar

Gluten Free Dr Pepper Brownies Recipe

This may seem like a wild idea, but I’ve tried these – and they’re absolutely incredible! And the best thing about them? They’re completely gluten-free. This recipe is inspired by one from Savory Spin. Let’s take a look at how to make GF Dr. Pepper brownies.

Ingredients

The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of Dr. Pepper (any variety)
  • 1/2 cup of cocoa powder
  • 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup of chopped pecans (optional)

Recipe

Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Prepare

Gather all of the ingredients you need. Preheat your oven to 350F and line a loaf pan/tin with parchment paper.

Step 2: Make The Batter

Using a mixer, beat the eggs for several minutes. Once beaten, add Dr. Pepper and cocoa powder. Mix until the ingredients are well combined. Now add 1/2 of the chocolate chips and stir until evenly distributed.

Step 3: Bake

Pour the batter into your prepared pan and bake in the center of your oven for around 20 minutes. Slightly more or less, depending on how you like the texture of your brownies.

Step 4: Enjoy!

Once cooled a little, melt your remaining half of the chocolate chips and drizzle over the brownies. Place the pecans on top (if you’re using them) – and your brownies are ready to serve. Enjoy!

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does Dr. Pepper have gluten? And give you an idea of which popular soda brands are considered gluten-free. I would love to hear from you if you’ve tried our Dr. Pepper brownies – I think they’re absolutely delicious!

Did you know that soda can sometimes contain gluten? Crazy, isn’t it?! Feel free to let me know your thoughts in the comments below. Sharing is caring.


Read more about: Are Cosmic Brownies Gluten-Free?

FAQs

Is Dr Pepper Safe For Celiacs?

Absolutely. As Dr Pepper is below the legally safe limit of 20ppm of gluten, it's completely safe for celiacs to enjoy all varieties of Dr Pepper.

What Sodas Are Gluten-Free?

Most popular soda brands are considered gluten free, or do not contain any gluten ingredients. Some of the most popular gluten free sodas are all varieties of Coca Cola, Dr Pepper, Sprite, Pepsi and Mountain Dew. This list is by no means extensive, and there are plenty of other gluten free sodas available.

Is Cherry Dr Pepper Gluten-Free?

Absolutely. All varieties of Dr Pepper, including Cherry Dr Pepper are gluten free. Enjoy Dr Pepper to your heart's content! 

Is Faygo Gluten-Free?

There are over 50 flavors of Faygo, so it's impossible to go through them all. However, it's worth noting that while some flavors do not contain any gluten ingredients, there are a few that are not safe for a gluten free diet. Because of this, we recommend checking the ingredients label before you purchase; particularly as ingredients are subject to change at any time.