Does Chipotle Have Gluten Free Options? – Gluten Free List

Last Updated on August 16, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does Chipotle have gluten free options? And taking a look at whether any of the food from Chipotle is suitable for a gluten free lifestyle.

From rice, to tortillas, to tacos, to burritos – there’s plenty of delicious food available at Chipotle, that’s fast and convenient. But does any of it contain gluten? Do they have a separate menu for their gluten free customers? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Chipotle?

If you’re from the US, you’ll probably be more than familiar with the casual food chain, Chipotle (or sometimes known better as Chipotle Mexican Grill). While it’s most famous in the US, they actually have branches all across the world! UK, Canada, France, and Germany, to name just a few. In fact, they have over 3,000 locations and have been a favorite for over 30 years!

Chipotle is a casual dining restaurant that serves tasty, convenient food. As their name suggests, they offer a selection of Mexican dishes, but predominantly specialize in the chain’s favorites, burritos, and tacos.

Click Here to Get Info About:

Does Chipotle Have Gluten Free Menu?

You may think that such a popular chain would have an exclusively gluten free menu for their celiac/gluten sensitive customers. However, that is not the case. While they may not have a gluten free menu, they do have quite an extensive allergen guide. The guide highlights which products contain wheat and gluten, and which would be safe for a gluten free lifestyle. I’ll be honest, most of the menu does not contain gluten. If you’d like to see their full allergen guide, you can do so here.

Chipotle supply an allergen statement on their website, regarding those with gluten intolerance and celiac disease. They can not stress enough to avoid the flour tortillas when ordering, as these contain gluten. And they also tell you to alert your server of any intolerances you may have. This enables them to be extra careful, and do helpful things like changing their gloves before starting your order.

They also state that although their corn products (corn chips, crispy corn tortillas, corn salsa etc.) do not contain gluten, they “may have trace amounts of gluten from potentially co-mingling with gluten-containing grains in the field.”

Check Out Gluten Free Cornbread Casserole: How To

Is Chipotle Safe For Celiacs?

For celiacs to even consume a grain of gluten-containing flour can be extremely dangerous to their bodies. For this reason, Chipotle is not safe for celiacs. If you’re celiac, you should only eat out at places that are certified gluten free, or make gluten free claims on their foods. The kitchens at chains like Chipotle are usually relatively small, and as they handle wheat flour tortillas almost all the time – it’s impossible to guarantee that no gluten has made it’s way into your food during the preparation or cooking.

Celiac Disease Cookbook for the Newly Diagnosed

Does Chipotle Have Gluten Free

If you feel comfortable and confident in your local chain, then you may want to try it. Be sure to let your server know before ordering, so they’re able to take extra precautions with your order – and be sure to stay away from the tortillas!

Gluten Free Chipotle List

As mentioned earlier, most of the food available at Chipotle does not contain any gluten ingredients. In fact, there is just ONE product on their entire usual menu that isn’t gluten free. That is their flour tortillas, which is used for both their tacos and burritos. For this reason, you may want to bring your own gluten free tortillas to Chipotle!

The following products do not contain any gluten:

  • barbacoa
  • black beans
  • carnitas
  • sofritas
  • sour cream
  • steak
  • guacamole
  • Monterey Jack cheese
  • pinto beans
  • queso blanco
  • chicken
  • romaine lettuce
  • brown rice
  • white rice
  • crispy corn tortilla*
  • fajita vegetables
  • tortilla chips*
  • fresh tomato salsa
  • roasted chili-corn salsa
  • super greens lettuce blend
  • tomatillo green chili salsa
  • tomatillo red chili salsa
  • Chipotle honey vinaigrette
  • plant-based chorizo
  • corn salsa*

* – food products marked with an asterisk may contain gluten due to the way the corn is harvested in the fields. For that reason, you may want to avoid these foods if particularly sensitive or have celiac disease.

Gluten Free Chipotle List

Conclusion – Does Chipotle Have Gluten Free

I hope this post has answered the question: does Chipotle have gluten free options? And give you an idea of which food products you can enjoy when eating out at Chipotle. While there isn’t anything to eat the ingredients in – as long as you take a gluten free tortilla, you’re all set for a tasty meal!

What’s your go-to order when eating out at Chipotle? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!


Is Chipotle’s Rice Gluten-Free?

On their traditional menu, Chipotle offer both brown and white rice. Both of which are gluten free, as rice is a naturally gluten free grain. They also offer cauliflower rice at some locations. This is also gluten free. Rice is a great addition to any gluten free diet.

Do Chipotle Corn Tortillas Have Gluten?

Chipotle corn tortillas are one of their most popular offerings, as they really do make the ideal snack. And guess what? They do not contain any gluten ingredients. This is because they're made using corn, which is a gluten free grain. However, in their allergen statement, Chipotle say that their corn tortillas may contain traces of gluten due to the way the corn is harvested.

Is Chipotle Cauliflower Rice Gluten-Free?

One of the newer additions to Chipotle's menu is their Cilantro-Lime cauliflower rice. Not only is this a healthier addition to their menu - but it is also free from any gluten too! It's better for you than standard rice, and is packed with a hell of a lot more flavor too! 

Are Chipotle Chips Corn or Flour?

Chipotle chips are made using corn...and flour! But don't worry, their chips aren't made from wheat flour (a gluten containing grain), they're made using corn/masa flour, which is naturally gluten free. However, they do state there's a risk of cross contact with their chips - so be extra careful!