Does Caesar Dressing Have Gluten?

Last Updated on June 3, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does caesar dressing have gluten? And taking a look at the best brands of gluten free caesar dressing, as well as how to make your very own GF caesar dressing at home; you definitely can’t beat homemade! With summer just around the corner, nothing beats BBQ meat and some salad on the side. But you may be wondering which salad dressings contain gluten and whether caesar dressing is usually safe. Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Caesar Dressing?

Caesar dressing is simply the dressing that usually goes alongside a caesar salad. The caesar salad has been around for over 70 years by a chef named Caesar (no surprises there!). The salad itself mainly consists of romaine lettuce and croutons. The dressing that usually goes over the top has quite a smoky taste, with hints of garlic and lemon. Caesar dressing is mayonnaise and garlic-based.

What Is Caesar Dressing

Read more about: Does Salad Dressing Contain Any Gluten?

Ingredients In Caesar Dressing

Every caesar dressing will likely have slightly different ingredients, so it’s always best to check the ingredients before consuming. However, the most common ingredients in caesar dressing are:

  • mayonnaise
  • garlic
  • lemon juice
  • Dijon mustard
  • salt
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • parmesan

Nutritional Information In Caesar Dressing

You may be curious as to the nutritional value of a caesar salad. This is for the average sized salad, with dressing:

  • Calories: 94
  • Fat: 4.4g
  • Cholesterol: 10.5mg
  • Sodium: 175mg
  • Potassium: 460mg
  • Carbs: 9g
  • Dietary Fiber: 3.4g
  • Sugar: 4.4g
  • Protein: 7g

Does Caesar Dressing Have Gluten?

Like most food products, there’s always a chance that they can contain gluten. And caesar dressing is no different. Typically, caesar dressing should not contain any gluten ingredients. Although caesar dressing usually contains Worcestershire sauce, most of the time, that is also gluten-free too.

However, even if a product does not contain any gluten ingredients, it’s always best to opt for those that contain a gluten-free label or are certified gluten-free. This is because these products have no chance of cross-contact and are tested for gluten before being made available to the public.

While traditional caesar dressing should be gluten free, always be sure to check the label for ingredients such as malt flavoring, malt vinegar, and soy sauce. These ingredients will not be gluten-free as they often contain barley or wheat.

Is Caesar Salad Gluten Free?

While you may think that caesar salad should be gluten-free – it’s very often not! While the dressing and vegetables (and any meat) are usually gluten-free, the croutons are certainly not. Croutons are the main part of a caesar salad and unfortunately are made from bread. If you’re ordering Caesar salad in a restaurant, be sure to avoid the croutons. However, besides the croutons – caesar salad should be safe to eat.

Gluten Free Caesar Dressing Brands

As we’ve seen, most caesar dressings will not contain any gluten ingredients, but you should try to opt for those that are specifically gluten-free. And it’s easier than you may think! Some of my go-to salad dressing brands are:

  • Annie’s
  • Organicville
  • Cardini’s
  • Primal Kitchen
  • Skinnygirl
  • Marie’s

Gluten Free Caesar Dressing Recipe

Sometimes, it’s simply easier to make your own dressing at home. It doesn’t require too many ingredients and can be made in around 5 minutes! The recipe we’re using today is inspired by Small Farm, Big Life. Let’s take a look at how to make our own caesar dressing.


The ingredients you need for this recipe are:

  • 1 cup of mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons of garlic (minced)
  • 6 anchovy fillets
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons of Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce (ensure it’s gluten-free)
  • 1/3 cup of grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper


Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Prepare

Gather all of your ingredients and prepare your food processor. If you do not have a food processor, an immersion blender also works too (and is easier).

Step 2: Blend

If you have a blender, add your mayonnaise, anchovies, lemon, mustard, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, cheese, salt, and pepper to the blender and blend. If you’re using a handheld immersion blender, it’s best to make this in a mason jar, or an old mayonnaise jar. Once you have a creamy texture, that’s light and smooth – your dressing is ready!

Step 3: Storage

Your dressing will last in a refrigerator for around one week. However, be sure to keep it in an airtight container. Enjoy!

Read more about: Is Italian Dressing Gluten-Free?


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does caesar dressing have gluten? And give you an idea of which brands offer the best gluten-free options. If you try our homemade gluten-free Caesar dressing recipe, do let us know.

Do you have your own caesar dressing recipe? Or know of any other brands that didn’t make the list? If so, please feel free to let us know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!


Does Caesar Dressing Have Dairy or Gluten?

While caesar dressings do not usually contain gluten, the same can not be said for dairy. As cheese is one of the main ingredients in this particular type of dressing, it is definitely not safe for those who need to avoid dairy. However, there are plenty of vegan alternatives available now.

What Brand of Caesar Dressing is Gluten Free?

There are many brands of salad dressing that contain a gluten free label, or are certified gluten free. Some of the most popular options include: Skinnygirl, Organicville, Annie's, Drew's Organics, Primal Kitchen and Cardini's.

Do All Salad Dressings Have Gluten?

Absolutely not! In fact, it's more common for salad dressings to not contain gluten. Just always be sure to check the ingredients or ask your server before ordering.

What Dressing Does Not Have Gluten?

There's always a chance that dressing may contain gluten. But typically, the following dressings do not contain gluten: caesar dressing, vinaigrette, Italian dressing, ranch dressing and mayonnaise. Most dressings are a variant of one of the above, and should be safe to consume when following a gluten free diet.