Last Updated on November 28, 2021
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: do fruit snacks have gluten? Gluten-free Fruit Snacks can be difficult to find, but this post will help to answer all the questions you’ve ever had about Welch’s Fruit Snacks! What are they, what are the ingredients? And are they safe to consume on a gluten-free diet? Let’s take a look.
What Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks?
If you have a child, you’re probably already familiar with the favorite lunchbox treat that is Welch’s Fruit Snacks. They’re made with real fruit and come in a range of different varieties including:
- Fruit Snacks
- Juicefuls Juicy Fruit Snacks
- Fruit Rolls
- Fruit and Yoghurt Snacks
Learn more about: Are Lay’s Potato Chips Gluten Free?
They are most definitely America’s favorite fruit snack! And it’s not hard to see why. If you’ve tasted one, you’ll know that they’re truly delicious.
Ingredients In Welch’s Fruit Snacks
Each product will have slightly different ingredients, but let’s take a look at the ingredients in Welch’s Mixed Fruit Snacks. It’s important to note that most products from this range will have very similar ingredients, and will not vary too much.
The ingredients are:
“Fruit puree (grape, peach, orange, strawberry and raspberry), corn syrup, sugar, modified corn starch, gelatin, concord grape juice from concentrate, citric acid, lactic acid, natural and artificial flavors, ascorbic acid (vitamin C), alpha tocopherol acetate (vitamin E), vitamin A palmitate, sodium citrate, coconut oil, carnauba wax, annatto (color), turmeric (color), red 40, and blue 1”
As you can see, fruit is always the number one ingredient in all of their Fruit Snacks range.
Are Fruit Snacks Gluten-Free?
If you’re a fan of Welch’s Fruit Snacks, I have some good news – they are all gluten-free! On Welch’s FAQs, they clearly state their gluten-free nature and are labeled gluten-free. This means that they’re perfectly safe to consume when following a gluten-free diet. This is great news for any young celiacs or gluten intolerants out there – you can still have fruit snacks in your lunchbox!
Many candies and snacks do contain gluten – so it’s great to find that are entirely safe for gluten-free consumption!
Always be sure to check the label when purchasing any of these products though. Ingredients and manufacturing methods are subject to change at any given time, so you should always be checking for any changes; no matter how familiar with a product you are.
Are Fruit Roll-Ups Gluten-Free?
Yes! As far as my extensive research on Welch’s Fruit Snacks can tell – all of their snacks (and varieties) are gluten-free, including their Fruit Roll-Ups. It’s always comforting to have a huge brand like Welch’s make a conscious effort to ensure their products can be enjoyed by as many people as possible – including celiacs.
Reading Fruit Snacks’ Expiry Dates
There’s another thing that is discussed often among fruit snack lovers: Welch’s Fruit Snacks expiration date. They are certainly unique with their expiry dates, so let’s take a closer look at how to read them. It’s worth noting that Welch’s states that all of their fruit snacks have a shelf life of one year.
Their system can be quite confusing – there’s even a guide on their website to follow if you need any help! Let’s take a look at an example. Their expiry dates look like this: PN20A04122.
The example shows that the product was produced on January 4th, 2020. This is because the first two numbers of the code represent the year (20 = 2020). The next letter represents the month it was produced in (i.e. A = January, B = February, C = March, D = April etc.). For some reason, September’s letter is an X – they don’t make it easy! The number after the month letter is the day it was produced (i.e. 04 = 4th of the month).
So PN20A04122 was produced on January 4th, 2020, and has a shelf life of one year. Meaning the best buy date for this product is January 4th, 2021.
Did you keep up with all that? I’m feeling tired just reading my example!
Are Fruit Snacks Good For You?
As they are a sweet treat, it’s always up for discussion whether Welch’s Fruit Snacks are good for you. Your children are likely the ones who will be eating these, so you’ll likely want to know whether they have any goodness. And the short answer is: yes they do!
While they are full of sugar, you can get some goodness from them. They’re a good source of a range of different vitamins including Vitamin C, Vitamin A, and Vitamin E. As I mentioned earlier, real fruit is always the main ingredient in all of their products – which is always a good thing!
As long as you’re eating Welch’s Fruit Snacks as part of a healthy, balanced diet – these can be eaten as a lunchtime treat.
It’s always worth mentioning that not only are they gluten-free, but, non-GMO and fat-free too – and they contain no preservatives. This means that they’re suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: do fruit snacks have gluten? And give you peace of mind that your child(ren) can enjoy these on a gluten-free diet. Or maybe you’re like me and a big kid at heart and enjoy these yourself!
Welch’s Fruit Snacks come in a range of sizes, styles, and flavors which at the time of writing this post are entirely gluten-free. However, always be sure to check the ingredients label and be sure to opt for products that carry a “gluten-free” label, as these are as safe as they possibly can be.
Do you enjoy Welch’s Fruit Snacks? What’s your go-to variety? I would love to know, so please feel free to leave any answers in the comments below. I’m very much that person that enjoys absolutely anything sweet, but I do love grape-flavored treats!
Read more about: Are Peanut M and M’s Gluten-Free?