Are Pakoras Gluten Free? (& GF Recipe)

Last Updated on April 27, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are pakoras gluten free? And taking a look at some of the best gluten-free dishes to try when you next have an Indian takeout. Indian food is one of my favorite takeouts, and it was something I was worried about missing when I first received my diagnosis – but plenty of Indian food is gluten-free! But are pakoras gluten-free? Let’s take a closer look.

What Are Pakoras?

Pakoras are a type of small fritter that originated in India. They are usually spiced and then deep-fried with a gram flour coating. It’s usually made from an assortment of vegetables such as potatoes and onions. They can also be made using meat too.

Ingredients Of Pakoras

The ingredients in pakoras can vary massively depending on where you purchase them from. However, the most common ingredients are:

  • chickpea/gram flour
  • potatoes
  • onion
  • oil
  • chili peppers
  • spices
  • herbs

What Are Pakoras

Learn more about: Does Indian Food Have Gluten?

Nutritional Information Of Pakoras

You may be curious as to the nutritional value of pakoras. It’s worth remembering that pakoras are very small and each pakora contains the following:

  • Calories: 19
  • Fat: 1.4g
  • Sodium: 36mg
  • Dietary Fiber: 0.3g
  • Sugars: 0.4g
  • Protein: 0.4g

Are Pakoras Gluten Free?

It’s good news if you’re a pakora lover! Pakoras are usually gluten-free. They are traditionally made using gram (chickpea) flour, which is naturally gluten-free. Always check with your server before ordering if they’re made the traditional way.

However, if you purchase from your grocery store, there’s a chance that instead of gram flour, they’ll use a cheaper alternative such as wheat flour. If this is the case, the pakora will no longer be gluten-free. This is why it’s always best to check the ingredients label of anything you purchase, whether you think it’s gluten-free or not.

Gluten Free Pakoras

If you’re ordering from a restaurant or takeout, it’s more than likely your pakoras will be gluten-free. However, if you’re looking for store-bought pakoras, there are a few I’ve tried that I would highly recommend. Let’s take a look at our top picks.

Spice It Up

It’s worth noting that this brand does state that this product is made in an area that handles wheat, so if you’re celiac rather than gluten intolerant, it may be best to avoid this brand. Their vegetable fritters are made using chickpea flour and cornflour and are perfect as a side dish, or as a snack.

You can find these Veggie Pakoras for $6.49 for a 375g bag.


Gosh is a gluten-free brand that has a huge selection of products, including their delicious Sweet Potato Pakoras. Which aren’t just gluten-free, but also vegan friendly too – meaning they’re suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles. They’re made using chickpea flour and sweet potato and can be found in most grocery stores in the UK. You can find out more about their incredible pakoras here.

Gluten Free Pakora Recipe

It’s best to follow a traditional Indian recipe when it comes to pakoras, so today we’re looking at a naturally gluten-free recipe from Indian Healthy Recipes.


The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • 1/2 cup of gram flour
  • 1/4 cup of rice flour
  • salt to season
  • 3 chopped green chilies
  • 2 tablespoons of mint
  • 1 tablespoon of ginger garlic paste
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garam masala powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of carom seeds
  • oil (for frying)
  • 3/4 cup of carrots
  • 1/4 cup of bell peppers
  • 1 medium onion (sliced)
  • 1 cup of shredded lettuce
  • 6 green beans
  • 1 cup of chopped spinach


Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Prepare the Veggies

Gather all of your ingredients and ensure your vegetables have been washed before use. Cut the veggies into strips and place them into a bowl. Add the salt, chilies, ginger garlic, garam masala, and mint to the bowl and mix well. Press down onto the mixture to release moisture. Leave for around 10 minutes and add the carom seeds and gram flour. Mix well to create a dough. Add a few drops of water if you need to.

Step 2: Fry the Pakora

Heat the oil in a fryer and once hot, drop small flattened pieces of dough into the oil. Leave for around one minute and then flip to cook on the other side. Your pakoras should be lightly golden before removing from the oil. Repeat until you’ve used all the dough

Step 3: Serve

Drain on a paper towel to remove any excess oil and then serve with chutney as a snack, or as a side dish. Enjoy!

Read more about: Are Samosas Gluten-Free? (& GF Recipe)

What Is Pakora Flour?

The flour that is used for pakoras is usually gram flour. You may know gram flour by its more common name, chickpea flour. Gram flour is used often in Indian cooking – and it’s naturally gluten-free, which is a bonus for us.

Gluten Free Food India

Indian food is a fantastic takeout for gluten-free life. Most of their dishes are made using gram flour, which is naturally gluten-free. Most main dishes (such as tikka masala and korma) are naturally gluten-free too! In fact, in my local takeout, the only food I can’t have is the naan bread. It’s always best to check with your server before ordering.


I hope this post has helped to answer the question: are pakoras gluten-free? And also gives you an idea of how to make your own! Do you know any tips and tricks when it comes to making pakoras? Or are there any brands I’ve missed? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!


What Are Pakoras Made of?

Pakoras are made from vegetables, which are then coated in flour and deep fried. The vegetables are usually potato, onion and spinach - but it can be any veggies of your choosing if you're making them at home. 

Are Pakoras Healthy?

It goes without saying that anything deep fried is not healthy. If you want to make pakoras slightly healthier, you can try cooking them in the oven or in an air fryer - however, it's unlikely to achieve that perfect crispy texture. As long as you eat pakoras in moderation, it's absolutely fine.