Are Lenny and Larry’s Cookies Gluten Free?

Last Updated on September 17, 2021

Today, we’re going to be answering the question are Lenny and Larry’s cookies gluten-free? They’re a brand that offers a variety of delicious cookies, but are they safe for gluten-free life? What ingredients are in these tasty treats? Let’s take a closer look at this household favorite.

What Are Lenny and Larry’s Cookies?

Lenny and Larry’s is a US cookie brand that started in 1993. It has a wide variety of cookies, brownies, muffins, and more. They come in a range of flavors such as:

  • Salted Caramel
  • Chocolate Donut
  • Apple Pie
  • Choc-o-Mint
  • Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip
  • Chocolate Chip
  • Double Chocolate
  • Peanut Butter
  • Lemon Poppy Seed
  • Oatmeal Raisin
  • White Chocolaty Macadamia
  • Snickerdoodle
  • Birthday Cake

They offer variety packs and are extremely popular. They’re full of protein and are a great source of dietary fiber. Their ingredients are non-GMO and their products are continually growing.

What Ingredients Are In Lenny and Larry’s Cookies?

Obviously, depending on the cookies that you’re looking at, the ingredients will differ slightly. However, let’s take a look at their humble chocolate chip cookie. It’s definitely the most popular flavor and it’s not hard to see why. The ingredients in this one includes:

“Enriched Wheat Flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), Protein Blend (vital wheat gluten, pea protein, rice protein), Chicory Root Fiber, Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (unsweetened chocolate, sugar, cocoa butter, dextrose, natural vanilla extract), Cane Sugar, Invert Sugar, Vegetable Glycerin, Palm Fruit Oil, Sunflower Lecithin, Natural Flavor, Baking Soda, Salt, Xanthan Gum, Guar Gum”

Let’s take a look now whether they’re suitable when following a gluten-free lifestyle

Learn more about: Chocolate Wafer Cookies Substitutes

Are The Cookies Lenny and Larry Gluten-Free?

As you can probably see from the ingredients list above – Lenny and Larry’s cookies are not gluten-free. They contain wheat flour, which means it contains gluten. Gluten can be found in a variety of cereal grains such as wheat, rye, and barley. As these cookies contain one of those cereal grains, they are not suitable.

However, recently Lenny and Larry’s launched their Chocolate Chip Keto Cookies. This cookie is the exception to their gluten-containing products. This cookie was made with us in mind. Instead of wheat, the main ingredient is a grain-free blend of lupin and almond flour.

Something that’s slightly confusing about the Keto Cookie is that it’s marketed and labelled as gluten-free. However, on their website (linked above), it states on the allergens label that it contains wheat. This is very confusing and will make many customers turn away – even if it is just a mistake.

Their FAQs clearly state that their Keto Cookies are for their gluten-free fans, but it’s not very reassuring. Especially at eating wheat can make us severely ill.

Gluten-Free Cookies

While we may be unsure on the outcome of Lenny and Larry’s cookies being gluten-free – there are a plethora of other gluten-free cookies we can enjoy; that are 100% safe! Let’s take a look at some of my favorites.

Enjoy Life

Enjoy Life is one of the most reliable cookie brands out there. And it doesn’t just cater for gluten-free living, but all of their cookies are free from the 14 most common allergens (wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, casein, soy, egg, sesame, sulfites, lupin, mustard, fish, shellfish, and crustaceans).

It’s important to note that if you have a separate oat allergy (like myself), you may need to avoid this brand.

They have a huge selection of flavors that are readily available in most grocery stores, at an affordable price. These flavors include:

  • Oatmeal Raisin (soft)
  • Chocolate Chip (crunchy)
  • Double Chocolate (crunchy)
  • Sugar Crisp (crunchy)
  • Vanilla Honey Graham (crunchy)
  • Chocolate Chip (soft)
  • Double Chocolate Brownie (soft)
  • Gingerbread Spice (soft)
  • Snickerdoodle (soft)

They even have mini versions of each, which makes them the perfect snack to get you through the day. This company is certified gluten-free, which makes them as safe as they possibly can be. This means that each product goes through vigorous training and has to meet strict guidelines set by the FDA before it can be sent out for consumption.

Tate’s Bake Shop

Another grocery store favorite is Tate’s Bake Shop. It’s important to note that this brand isn’t entirely gluten-free, so when buying, you must ensure that you’re buying the gluten-free option, as many of their products are not safe.

Their gluten-free flavors include:

  • Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Coconut Crisp Cookies
  • Ginger Zinger Cookies

All of the gluten-free products are clearly marked. What I love about this brand is that the main ingredient is rice flour, as opposed to oats. This means that it’s suitable for a wider range of lifestyles – hurrah!


Schar offer a wide range of cookies suitable for gluten-free lifestyle. And they don’t just offer cookies – Schar is one of the leading gluten-free brands worldwide. From shortbread cookies to butter cookies to chocolate-dipped cookies, the options are endless. And all gluten-free!

The brand is certified gluten-free and everything is made in a gluten-free facility. Schar products are available almost anywhere and are extremely popular. It’s a brand I use often and have never been disappointed with anything I’ve eaten!


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are Lenny and Larry cookies gluten-free? While it may still be undecided whether even their Keto cookies are gluten-free, there are a wide selection of gluten-free cookies available to us, which are equally delicious.

Are there any gluten-free cookies that didn’t make the list that you think are worthy of a place? Or is your favorite already on here? Please feel free to leave any responses in the comment box below, I love chatting to fellow gluten-free individuals! It can be daunting when you first receive your diagnosis, but this community is so welcoming – and it does get easier, I promise!

Read more about: Does Nutella Have Gluten?

Leave a Comment