Last Updated on June 4, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Jack in the Box tacos gluten free? And taking a look at which items you can enjoy when visiting Jack in the Box. Tacos are typically made from corn, which is a gluten-free grain – but are the ones from this popular fast-food chain free from gluten? Let’s take a look.
What Is Jack In The Box?
If you’re from the West Coast of the US, you’ll likely already be familiar with Jack in the Box. Jack in the Box is a fast-food chain, that has well over 2,000 locations across the US. It’s been around for just over 70 years and is a much-loved fast-food favorite. It’s well known for serving burgers, chicken, salads, breakfast foods, and of course, tacos.
What Are Tacos?
You’ll likely already know what tacos are – but if you’re unsure, they’re a Mexican dish. Tacos are tortillas (either soft or crunchy), which are then filled with delicious fillings such as steak and cheese.
Learn more about: Are Del Taco Tacos Gluten-Free?
Ingredients In Jack In The Box Tacos
The ingredients in tacos can vary depending on where you purchase them from. However, the ingredients in the Jack in the Box tacos are:
- ground corn
- ground dark chicken
- textured vegetable protein
- defatted soy grits
- enriched wheat flour
- garlic powder
- hydrolyzed corn (corn, soy, and wheat)
- monosodium glutamate
- onion powder
- natural flavors
- tomato paste
- worcestershire sauce
The regular tacos list soy, wheat, and milk as present allergens.
Nutritional Information Of Jack In The Box Tacos
You may be curious as to the nutritional value of Jack in the Box tacos. One regular taco contains the following:
- Calories: 190
- Fat: 11g
- Cholesterol: 15mg
- Sodium: 320mg
- Carbs: 17g
- Dietary Fiber: 2g
- Sugars: 3g
- Protein: 6g
Are Jack In The Box Tacos Gluten Free?
As you can probably tell from the list of ingredients, Jack in the Box tacos are not gluten-free. There is wheat present in their tacos and they should not be consumed when following a gluten-free diet. The allergens present in Jack in the Box tacos are wheat, soy, and milk. Because of this, the tacos should be avoided for those following a gluten-free or dairy-free lifestyle.
Jack In The Box Gluten Free List
If you’re looking for a list of which foods are free from any gluten from Jack in the Box – look no further. The following items do not contain any gluten ingredients. However, if the food is fried (like French fries), they do not have dedicated fryers. Therefore, there is a high chance of cross-contact with gluten-containing foods.
Salads and Dressings
It’s important to note that croutons are not gluten-free and some of the dressings are not gluten. Both come in separate packaging, so check the ingredients labels before eating.
- Grilled Chicken Salad
- Southwest Chicken Salad with Grilled Chicken
- Creamy Southwest Dressing
- Low Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing
- Ranch Dressing
- Apple Bites with Caramel
- French Fries
- Spicy Corn Sticks
- Side Salad
Sauces and Toppings
- Frank’s RedHot Buffalo Dipping Sauce
- Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce
- Barbecue Dipping Sauce
- Buttermilk House Dipping Sauce
- Pancake Syrup
- Sweet N’ Sour Dipping Sauce
- Bacon Mayo Sauce
- Sriracha Sauce
- American Cheese
- Real Swiss Cheese
- Swiss-Style Cheese
- Tartar Sauce
- Fire Roasted Salsa
- Grape Jelly
- Grilled Onions
- Hot Taco Sauce
- Sour Cream
- Strawberry Jam Packet
- Vegetable Oil Whipped Spread
- Chocolate (with whipped topping)
- Strawberry (with whipped topping)
- Vanilla (with whipped topping)
- All drinks are free from gluten
You can find out more information about all the food and drinks above, here.
Gluten Free Taco Brands
If you’re craving tacos after reading this post, don’t worry – it’s super easy to find tacos gluten-free! While many taco shells will not contain any gluten ingredients, it’s best to opt for those with a gluten-free label, if possible. The following brands are gluten-free:
- Old El Paso Gluten Free Crunchy Taco Shells
- Siete Grain-Free Taco Shells
- Garden of Eatin’ Yellow and Blue Corn Taco Shells
- Simple Truth Organic Yellow and Blue Corn Taco Shells
- Mission (several GF options available)
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are Jack in the Box tacos gluten-free? And give you an idea of which food and drink products you can enjoy safely at Jack in the Box. Fast food restaurants are typically the hardest to enjoy gluten-free food because the risk of cross-contact is so high. And unfortunately, the risk at Jack in the Box is high too.
What’s your go-to order from Jack in the Box? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring.
What are the Ingredients in Jack in the Box Tacos?
The ingredients in the tacos from Jack in the Box are: ground corn, water, lime, beef, ground dark chicken, textured vegetable protein, defatted soy grits, seasoning, enriched wheat flour, salt, garlic powder, hydrolyzed corn (corn, soy and wheat), proteins, monosodium glutamate, onion powder, natural flavors, tomato paste and worcestershire sauce.
Can You Eat Tacos if You Are Gluten-Free?
Absolutely! Typically, tacos are made from corn (a gluten free grain). There are a huge selection of taco brands which are suitable for those following a gluten free diet. However, always be sure to check the ingredients label, as sometimes tacos can be derived from wheat, rather than corn. If this is the case, they will no longer be gluten free.
Are Crispy Tacos Gluten-Free?
Some brands of crispy tacos are gluten free. You can check out our list of gluten free tacos above. Always check the ingredients, as ingredients are subject to change at any time.
Are Jack in the Box Tacos Soy Based?
Unfortunately, for those following a soy free diet - you'll be unable to eat the tacos from Jack in the Box tacos. Alongside milk and wheat, soy is another of the allergens present.
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.