Last Updated on February 8, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are egg roll wrappers gluten-free? And taking a look at some of the best store-bought options available for gluten-free life. But what are the ingredients in egg roll wrappers? Are they healthy? Let’s take a closer look at everything egg roll wrappers related!
Egg rolls are incredibly popular in the US, and it’s not difficult to see why. Their crunchy exterior and chewy middle make it the perfect combination. They are often mistaken for spring rolls, but egg rolls are much thicker and are doughy. After filling them with fillings such as pork and vegetables, you deep fry them in hot oil – and these tasty treats are ready to eat!
Store-Bought Gluten-Free Egg Roll Wrappers
Time for some honesty – it’s incredibly difficult to find gluten-free egg roll wrappers. We know the answer to the question “are egg roll wrappers gluten-free?” is, unfortunately, no. This is because they’re made using wheat flour. There are a few brands that sell gluten-free egg roll mixes for you to make your own wrappers at home. And there are also brands that offer gluten-free egg rolls. Let’s take a look at those to satisfy your egg roll cravings!
Mom’s Place has an incredible Gluten Free Egg Roll or Wonton Wrap Mix.
It’s a little expensive at $5.99 per mix, but it’s got incredible reviews and it’s one of the very few pre-made mixes available for us. It makes 16 egg rolls and contains the following ingredients:
- brown rice flour
- sorghum flour
- non-GMO cornstarch
- potato starch
- xanthan gum
- potato flour
Feel Good Foods
We had a brief look at Feel Good Foods earlier. They are the only ready-made gluten egg rolls I could find – which says a lot about the limited options we have in terms of egg rolls! However, Feel Good Foods offer two tasty varieties: Chicken Egg Rolls and Vegetable Egg Rolls. They come frozen for your convenience and are $7.99 for a pack of 3. You can find them here.
The ingredients in the vegetable egg rolls are as follows:
- rice flour
- corn starch
- sesame oil
- cane sugar
- canola oil
- black pepper
- yeast extract
- soy lecithin
- baking powder
It’s worth noting that egg and soy are both allergens in this product.
While this isn’t strictly egg rolls, they are very similar – and gluten-free. Lucky Food has a selection of gluten-free spring rolls. It’s worth trying for the flavors alone! The varieties they have available are:
- chicken spring rolls
- veggie spring rolls
- kimchi spring rolls
- Thai spring rolls
While they may not be exactly like egg rolls, they are very close to the real thing – and just as delicious! Although it takes a while to make egg rolls from scratch, it may be worth trying if you’re searching for that authentic Chinese egg roll taste and flavor.
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are egg roll wrappers gluten-free? And made it easier for you to find ways to enjoy egg rolls on a gluten-free diet. In the future, we’ll hopefully have more options to choose from and the gluten-free industry will continue to grow.
Do you know of any other gluten-free egg rolls? Or have a recipe you’d like to share? Please feel free to share any answers in the comments below.
What Are Egg Roll Wrappers Made of?
The fillings itself can vary massively, depending on where you get your egg rolls from. However, the ingredients for the egg roll wrappers usually remain the same. You can make egg roll wrappers by using the following ingredients: all purpose flour, egg, salt, cold water and cornstarch. Adding the egg is what makes egg roll wrappers separate from spring roll wrappers, which are almost translucent.
Can You Buy Gluten Free Egg Rolls?
Absolutely! It's a tricky food to find gluten free, but it's definitely possible. Nowadays, you can find almost any food gluten free, and the gluten free industry just keeps growing. The most popular brand of gluten free egg rolls is Feel Good Foods - and they have a few flavors to choose from. We'll be taking a closer look at Feel Good Foods later in this article.
What is the Difference Between Vegan Egg Roll Wraps and Regular Egg Roll Wraps?
It goes without saying that egg roll wraps contain egg, which of course, is a no-go for any vegan. But there are several brands that sell vegan egg roll wraps! Nasoya and Twin Dragon offer vegan alternatives to their egg rolls, which both carry a clear vegan label. It's important to note that these brands are not gluten free. The difference between standard egg roll wraps and vegan ones is the removal of the egg. The most common ingredients in vegan egg roll wraps are "wheat flour, water, salt, wheat gluten, vinegar and cornstarch".
Is Egg Roll a Junk Food?
In short: yes! Egg rolls are most definitely a junk food. They are anything but healthy, but they are worth treating yourself to every once in a while. Not only are they doughy, but they are then deep-fried. If it's deep-fried, it will always be classed as "junk food". Each standard sized egg roll contains around 10g of fat...and that's without any sauce! The wrappers themselves are healthy, but placing them in a fryer with fillings? Less so.
What Can You Use to Substitute Egg Roll Wrappers?
There are a few gluten free substitutes you can use when making egg rolls. The most obvious choice being rice paper. Although you won't get the thick, doughy wrapper - rice paper is a great substitute. Another alternative is gluten free tortilla wraps. Gluten free tortilla wraps are significantly easier to find in grocery stores than gluten free egg roll wrappers, so it's certainly something worth considering.
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.