Are Dove Chocolates Gluten Free? (& Best GF Chocolate List)

Last Updated on July 4, 2024

What Is Dove Chocolate?

If you’re from the US, you’ll know this chocolate as Dove. However, if you’re from anywhere else in the world, you’ll know this chocolate better as Galaxy. Same silky smooth chocolate; just a different name. They’re most famous for their chocolate bars. But they also make products such as ice creams and seasonal chocolate gifts too.

Learn more about: Are Reese’s Puffs Gluten-Free? (& GF Reese’s List)

Ingredients In Dove Chocolate

Their Milk Chocolate bar is the most popular. So let’s take a look at the ingredients in this tasty treat:

  • sugar
  • cocoa butter
  • skim milk
  • chocolate
  • milkfat
  • lactose
  • soy lecithin
  • artificial flavor

The only allergens in this particular flavor are milk and soy.

Nutritional Information Of Dove Chocolate

The nutritional value of 1/3 of a bar of Milk Chocolate Dove chocolate is:

  • Calories: 170
  • Fat: 10g
  • Cholesterol: 10mg
  • Sodium: 25mg
  • Carbs: 19g
  • Sugar: 18g
  • Protein: 2g

Are Dove Chocolates Gluten Free?

This information is only relevant to Dove chocolate, manufactured in the US – please bear this in mind when purchasing.

While Dove chocolate does not make any gluten-free claims, its products are considered safe to consume on a gluten-free diet. The only Dove food items that contain gluten ingredients are Cookies & Creme and Cinnamon Graham Cracker Cookies.

If there is a chance of the product coming into contact with gluten during manufacturing, it will be clearly labeled on the packaging. For this reason, it’s always best to check every time you purchase Dove chocolate. Ingredients and manufacturing methods are subject to change at any time. You can find out more about Dove chocolate here.

Gluten Free Chocolate Brands

Besides Dove, you may be wondering which other chocolate brands are gluten-free. Let’s take a look at our top picks when it comes to finding the best-tasting gluten-free chocolate.

Aero

Whenever I’m craving chocolate, Aero is my go-to brand. It’s bubbly, creamy, and melts on your tongue.

  • Milk Chocolate Aero
  • Mint Chocolate Aero
  • White Chocolate Aero
  • Orange Chocolate Aero
  • Aero Mini’s
  • Aero Bubbles (all varieties)

Whether they’re balls or bars – Aero is completely safe for those following a gluten-free lifestyle. It’s worth noting that Aero is a part of Nestle, and Nestle has a selection of other gluten-free chocolate too – Aero is just my top pick!

Reese’s

While Reese’s does not label many of their products as gluten-free, there are a few – and it just so happens to be some of their most popular candy. The following varieties are gluten-free:

  • Peanut Butter Cups
  • Fast Break
  • Nutrageous Bar (all sizes)
  • Reese’s Pieces
  • Unwrapped Mini’s (milk and white)

All of their seasonal candy is not safe for a gluten-free diet. All other candy does not contain any gluten but may be at risk of cross-contact, so is not labeled as gluten-free.

Alter Eco

If you’re shopping at Alter Eco, it’s easier to tell you which products do contain gluten, as so many of their chocolate bars are gluten-free. In fact, besides their Dark Salt & Malt chocolate bar, the following products are all gluten-free:

  • chocolate bars
  • truffles
  • nut butter bombs
  • quinoa

Their products are all certified gluten-free. This means that each product goes through extensive testing and must meet strict guidelines set by the FDA.

Enjoy Life

Enjoy Life may not have a huge selection of chocolate bars on offer, but it’s one of the safest brands for those with allergies or intolerances. This is because their chocolate bars are free from the top 14 allergens, and of course, gluten is one of them. The following bars are gluten-free:

  • dark chocolate
  • rice milk
  • rice milk crunch

Hershey’s

Hershey’s is another super popular chocolate brand, but much like Reese’s, only a small selection of products are considered gluten-free. These products are:

  • plain milk chocolate bar
  • milk chocolate with almonds bar
  • Hershey’s nuggets (only some)
  • Hershey’s kisses (only some)

Be sure to check the ingredients for the most up-to-date information.

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are Dove chocolates gluten-free? And also gives you an idea of which other popular chocolate brands you can enjoy when following a gluten-free diet. While it may seem difficult to navigate at first, it will become easier to shop gluten-free, and you’ll be surprised at how many of your chocolate favorites do not contain gluten.

FAQs