Are Canned Beans Gluten Free?

Last Updated on April 25, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are canned beans gluten free? And taking a look at the easiest way to spot whether a canned product is gluten-free or not. As well as sharing the top canned products that are gluten-free. It can be difficult to determine whether a product is gluten-free, particularly if the ingredient label is vague. You may not even have thought to check products like canned fruit, canned beans, or canned vegetables – but gluten manages to sneak its way into almost anywhere. So are canned beans gluten-free? Let’s take a look.

What Are Canned Beans?

It goes without saying that canned beans are simply beans, that are in a can. However, canned beans are beans that have been cooked partially and then packed into a can under a lot of heat and a lot of pressure. Whether it’s baked beans or refried beans – anything that goes into a can will go through the same process.

What Are Canned Beans

Learn more about: Are Canned Black Beans Gluten Free: What To Avoid

Are Canned Beans Gluten Free?

There isn’t a definitive answer. The answer is: sometimes. While beans themselves are naturally gluten-free, when they come in a can (especially baked beans), they are usually in some kind of sauce. The sauce will sometimes contain gluten, or be made in a space where gluten-containing products are also handled.

If this is the case, then the beans will no longer be gluten-free. If you’re concerned, always lookout for a gluten-free label, as you’ll know that this product is safe. And don’t worry, there are plenty of gluten-free options when it comes to canned beans.

Are Beans Gluten Free?

Yes. Whichever beans you’re wanting to enjoy, they’re all naturally gluten-free! This includes, but is not limited to:

  • black beans
  • kidney beans
  • pinto beans
  • garbanzo beans
  • cannelinni beans

How To Tell If Canned Products Are Gluten Free?

If you’re wondering how to tell if a product is gluten-free, the easiest way to do this is to look for BROWS. This is an acronym that I use all the time when grocery shopping.

  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Oats (unless gluten-free oats)
  • Wheat
  • Spelt

Those are the ingredients you need to look out for, as they can not be consumed on a gluten-free diet. However, some other ingredients that may contain gluten that you need to look out for are ingredients such as:

  • modified food starch
  • wheat starch
  • natural flavors
  • hydrolyzed protein
  • seasonings

While the list above won’t always contain gluten products, it’s possible that they’ve been derived from a gluten-containing grain, so it’s always best to check if you can.

Gluten Free Canned Food

Canned fruit and vegetables will likely be gluten-free, but you can always check if you’re unsure. Products like baked beans and refried beans are the ones that you definitely need to check. Because of this, I thought I’d share the best gluten-free baked and refried bean brands available.

Gluten Free Baked Bean Brands

Here’s a round-up of the best-baked bean brands:

Amy’s Kitchen

Amy’s Kitchen is a brand that I adore. It’s a gluten-free brand that’s home to a huge selection of gluten-free products, including baked beans. Their beans are not just gluten-free, but they’re also vegan, dairy-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, and kosher. This means that the product is suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles. The main ingredients in these beans are white beans in tomato puree.


You’ll all be familiar with Heinz. Heinz baked beans are incredible, and always my go-to choice when it comes to baked beans. It’s important to note that Heinz is not an exclusively gluten-free brand, and they do offer many products that do contain gluten.

However, their gluten-free flavors of baked beans include:

Bush’s Best

Bush’s Best is another easily accessible brand, but what’s great about Bush’s Best is that they have an extensive selection of flavors – all of which are gluten-free. They only use cornstarch, or corn-based products in their baked beans; which we know are gluten-free.

Their gluten-free flavors include:

  • original baked beans
  • vegetarian baked beans
  • organic baked beans
  • barbecue baked beans
  • brown sugar baked beans
  • brown sugar hickory baked beans
  • country style baked beans
  • homestyle baked beans
  • maple and cured bacon baked beans
  • honey-sweet baked beans
  • onion baked beans
  • sweet and tangy baked beans
  • sweet heat baked beans
  • Boston recipe baked beans

Gluten Free Refried Bean Brands

The Gluten-Free Bar claims that both the leading brands of refried beans, Old El Paso and Rosarita are considered gluten-free, and safe to consume when following a gluten-free diet. Always be sure to check the ingredients, as ingredients can change at any time.


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are canned beans gluten-free? Put simply: not always, but it is super easy to find beans that do not contain gluten.

Do you know of any other gluten-free canned bean brands that didn’t make the list? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Learn more about: Are Rosarita Beans Gluten Free?


Which Canned Baked Beans are Gluten Free?

We'll take an extensive look in this post at which beans are gluten free, but some of the most popular options of gluten free baked beans are Heinz, Amy's Kitchen, B&M and Bush's Best.

Can You Eat Beans on a Gluten-Free Diet?

Absolutely! Beans are great on any diet, but particularly on a gluten free diet. They offer a range of health benefits, and all beans in their most natural form are completely gluten free.

Do Refried Beans Have Gluten?

Refried beans are considered to be gluten free. However, just because the two leading brands of refried beans are considered safe to consume, that does not mean that all refried beans are. It's always best to check the label and make an informed decision of any food you're buying that may contain gluten.