Are Buffalo Wild Wings Gluten Free?

Last Updated on June 2, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Buffalo Wild Wings gluten free? And taking a look at which items at Buffalo Wild Wings are suitable for a gluten-free diet. If you’re looking for casual dining with a vast selection and great bar food, Buffalo Wild Wings is the place to go. However, you may be wondering if they offer any gluten-free products – so let’s take a closer look.

What Are Buffalo Wild Wings?

Buffalo Wild Wings has over 1,000 locations in a variety of countries, including the US, Canada, Mexico, and India (to name a few). Buffalo Wild Wings are a franchise that offers casual dining offers, and also operates as a sports bar, too. They’ve been around since the 80s and as their infamous name suggests, they specialize in all things wings and sauces.

Are Buffalo Wild Wings Gluten Free?

The menu at Buffalo Wild Wings has a lot to offer, but unfortunately, there aren’t too many gluten-free products. Their traditional wings do not contain any gluten ingredients, and there are a few other dishes/bar food that does not contain any gluten.

However, none of the food at Buffalo Wild Wings is certified gluten-free or even carries a gluten-free label. This is because of the environment that which the food is prepared and cooked. Many of their foods contain gluten, so gluten is heavily present within the kitchen. As well as that, Buffalo Wild Wings do not have dedicated fryers. This means that the wings that do not contain gluten are cooked in the same fryer as gluten-containing products – which likely means that the wings you’re served will contain gluten in some way.

The statement on their website says that “we cannot…guarantee that any item is free of any allergen and no items are certified gluten-free…”. Because of this, it may be best to avoid their wings or other fried foods and stick to their other gluten-free options. You can find their full allergen and preparation guide here.

Learn more about:

Gluten Free At Buffalo Wild Wings

If you’re looking for a list of foods that do not contain gluten at Buffalo Wild Wings, you’ve come to the right place!

Wings and Sauces

The main reason you visit a place like this is to enjoy the different flavors on offer. Let’s take a look at the chicken available and the sauces.


  • chicken tenders (grilled – with or without seasoning)
  • traditional chicken wings (cooked in the same fryer as gluten-containing foods


  • burger patty (no bun)


  • Wild Wing Sauce
  • Sweet BBQ Wing Sauce
  • Mild Wing Sauce
  • Parmesan Garlic Wing Sauce
  • Medium Wing Sauce
  • Hot BBQ Wing Sauce
  • Hot Wing Sauce
  • Blazin’ Ghost Pepper Sauce
  • Mango Habanero Wing Sauce
  • Honey BBQ Wing Sauce
  • Spicy Garlic Wing Sauce
  • Caribbean Jerk Wing Sauce
  • Bourbon Honey Mustard Sauce


  • Desert Heat Seasoning
  • Lemon Pepper Seasoning
  • Buffalo Seasoning
  • Salt & Vinegar Seasoning
  • Chipotle BBQ Seasoning
  • Cajun Seasoning

Sides and Sharing Dishes

  • nachos
  • nachos with chicken
  • chili con queso dip
  • chicken tortilla soup
  • corn tortilla chips
  • pulled pork
  • prime rib
  • French fries
  • cheese
  • chili
  • bacon
  • coleslaw
  • buffalo chips
  • veggie boat (with ranch)
  • kettle chips


  • ranch
  • coleslaw
  • bbq ranch
  • salsa
  • chili
  • pico de gallo
  • Caesar dressing
  • queso
  • blue cheese
  • southwestern ranch
  • tzatziki
  • balsamic
  • French marinara
  • spicy brown mustard
  • cocktail sauce

Gluten Free Buffalo Wild Wings Recipe

If you’d prefer to make your own Buffalo wild wings (which are considerably healthier too), why not try this Seasoned Buffalo Grilled Chicken Wings recipe from Once Upon a Chef, which is naturally gluten-free.


The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

The Wings:

  • 3lb of chicken wings
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of pepper
  • oil (to grill)

The Sauce:

  • 6 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 minced garlic glove
  • 1/4 cup (plus 2 tbsp.) of Frank’s Hot Sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon of sugar


Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Prepare

Gather all of your ingredients and sprinkle the wings with salt and pepper – so that they’re well seasoned. Ensure to grill is set to around medium-high. Now using the oil, rub the grill (with tongs ideally) until the surface becomes glossy.

Step 2: Grill

Now it’s time to grill the wings. They should take around 20 minutes to become cooked (they should be crispy and golden). Be sure to keep an eye on them throughout the cooking process and adjust the temperature, if need be.

Step 3: Make the Sauce

Add the butter and garlic to a bowl that you can put in the microwave. Melt the butter and then add the hot sauce, sugar, salt, and onion & chili powders. Mix well and leave to one side.

Step 4: Serve

Once the wings have cooled slightly, cover them in the sauce and they’re ready to serve! Or use the sauce as a dipping sauce – it’s entirely up to you. Enjoy!


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are Buffalo Wild Wings gluten-free? And also gives you an idea of the best foods to enjoy when eating out at this popular franchise. If you’d rather eat at home, or at a certified food establishment – that’s completely understandable.

What’s your go-to place for gluten-free wings? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring.

 Read more about: Are Chicken Wings Gluten-Free? (& GF Chicken Wings Recipe)


Are Buffalo Wings Usually Gluten Free?

No. Buffalo wings are not typically gluten free. They're usually cooked in the same fryer as gluten, or use gluten in their coating. However, there are plenty of gluten free wings available. 

Can Celiacs Eat Buffalo Wild Wings?

Buffalo Wild Wings advise that celiacs do not eat at their restaurants as none of their products are certified gluten free, or prepared in a gluten free environment.

Does Buffalo Wild Wings Have Gluten Free Sauces?

Yes! In fact, most of their sauces are gluten free. You can find their gluten free sauces and seasonings above, in this article.

Is There Gluten in Buffalo Sauce?

It depends on the brand - so always be sure to check the ingredients. For example, Frank's Original Buffalo Wings sauce is considered a gluten free option.